Hey everybody,
After my mobile pop journey, I'm ready to jump into the big blue - sometimes rough - ocean AKA FaceBook.
In the past I have done some gaming offers which gave me my first $150 revenue (with a -50% ROI that is, to be honest) but it has given me a pretty good feel of how FB works in return. So when I started revitalizing my Ads manager again last month, I got a lot of déjà-vu's which felt good 
Anyway, I got warmed up by the following posts:
@stickupkid 36430-Tier-2-Geo-Pin-Submit-300-ROI-No-tools
@lyhras 39939-Taking-my-Facebook-Sweeps-virginity
@gijsvipresponse 40429-Getting-100-ROI-on-average-with-PinSubmits-or-CCsubmits
which provide FB newbies not only with lots of information but also with lots of inspiration, thanks guys! Furthermore, I joined a Dutch affiliate network a few weeks ago and got hooked up with a really nice and helpful AM. Finally, by starting this FA I not only hope to be able create solid FB campaigns,
but also to be a sort of inspiration to others, wanting to start with FB as well.
As I have to show up at my work during daytime and my agenda is already getting overloaded, I will mostly use the evenings to make some progress, unless I have some boring meeting where I just can work on my laptop and no one really cares
I will also start with one offer to get the process going.
So, wish me luck and let's get started 
Offer: Shopping gift card, SOI so shouldn't be too difficult to start with
Geo: Somewhere in Eastern Europe (Tier 2)
Payout: €1,00
Budget: low enough to keep me under the radar I guess 
Spy tools:
I wanted to get a feel of different ads on FB, so I checked the following sites
AdSpyHub.com --> It's free and I think it's the successor of bigbigads. In case you didn't know this one yet, consider this as my first small present for the STM community
It also provided me with a nice Lidl survey (which was on the edge IMO as they used the FB upper notifications bar as image on there LP which made it looke like you were still on FB. I think FB calls this 'misleading' 
Adsector.com --> Well this one costs me €175 for a month via the Charles Ngo review but I just had to check this for myself as you can also filter on affiliate networks and trackers. I must say I like it a lot but I'm also a bit disappointed to see so little active sweeps campaigns. Anyway, it's still giving me some extra insights
AdEspresso.com: If you go to the Examples page you get to see quite a number of ads. If you register (free trial) you get to see a lot more ads through their university page
Fanpage:
I created a fanpage yesterday and started promoting this page this afternoon. It already gave me 51 likes for €0,83 until now so the tip I ran into in some YouTube video works quite well I think (tip was: promote your page in countries with cheap clicks to boost it and to create more trust and engagement the moment you start your real campaign).
Account:
I created a BM for this on my personal account. I will try to keep my funnel as compliant as possible
Tracker:
I want to save that for later. Let's see if i can get some decent CTR first 
To do:
* warm up the fanpage a bit more
* prepare my lander and domain
* select enough images for my ads (IG is indeed a great resource, thank you for the tip @gijsresponse)
* write headlines and other ad copy and send it to onehourtranslation
* set up campaign
* get it approved
I hope to have this done before the weekend. If I have missed anything, feel free to correct me!
Sjoerd

Thanks for creating this follow along! FB Sweeps is a big interest of mine, curious if you will face any difficulties with compliance on your FB account. I've seen user with multiple farmed accounts, and then others saying if you tread carefully you can be successful. Best of luck!
Following!
Sent from my iPhone using STM Forums mobile app

So...
First results:

A bit of history: I have created 3 adsets with 3 pictures each, €5,-/day/adset budget. My prelander is a simple survey, tailored to the type of gift card, and without the fake social proof below it (FB still scares me a bit).
Result on the second day (launched on Sunday evening, it's Tuesday afternoon now):
35 clicks to offer
0 conversions
So my thoughts are, looking at the FB stats:
- Should I pause the higher CPC ads already?
- Can I already say something about my prelander? about the offer?
- Testing more images for sure
BTW, audience = 2.700.000 women 35+, but 3.300.000 when I check the 'Expand interests..' checkbox (which I did).
A relevance score of 3 will never become a 9 or 10, also not after keeping the ad live for more days. Well, I have never seen it happen let's put it like that so I would say the real bad CTR's, cut them yes. Your volumes on the other hand are really low. 83 clicks from FB to the lander -> 35 clicks to the offer = 42%. That's decent and not bad at all.
A SOI lead gen campaign in Tier-2 country should have some conversions after 35 clicks I would say honestly, or at least one!
OK thanks for your quick analysis stickupkid, really appreciate it. So I paused the tree ads with the lowest CTR and will let the campaign simmer a bit more and see if it gives me a conversion one of these days. Meanwhile I will test a few more images and work on my second campaign (supermarket voucher in the same GEO).
Hey and let's face it, I managed to get instant approval (it took approx. 3 minutes) for the gift card campaign, so I'm still a bit proud of myself (said the newbie) 
Quick update:
After my previous update I created some more ads with new pics. Immediately after going live I got my 1 conversion
However, since I wasn't tracking yet, I couldn't say where it originated from. Yesterday (the day after) I got 7 conversions, which gave me an ROI of -80%, Yee
Still I didn't have a clue about the ads that gave me these conversions, so yesterday night I hurried to set up
CTR lander-->offer / ad-->lander was 133/270 yesterday and 121/199 today, so I guess that's still OK.
So, as the offer is actually converting I think I should test it a bit more?
I'm also starting to get an idea of what kind of images work well - also due to stickupkid's post here - so I will create some more.
One ad reached relevance score 7 today BTW, another happy feeling haha
Anyway, whle experiementing a lot without a reala system yet, som questions have popped up:
I paused some poor-score ads, so an ad set only remains with 2 instead of 3 ads running. If I ad a new ad, I can add it to the existing ad set (in other words: let it blend with the (already partly optimized?) audience pool) or just create a new ad set by duplicating an existing one and replacing images. What's he best thing to do?
But also from the known ad sets I see more registered clicks (2 to 4 times as much) than in FB. Any clue? Most important is that my leads are registered correctly, but it would be convenient if the click stats also correspond. Or am I doing something terribly wrong somewhere, somehow?
You got some conversions, great to hear! Could you sum up per day amount of offer clicks ->conversions? Maybe also look at other advertiser with same brand/geo offer to split test. I wouldn't touch good performing ad sets by adding new ads in it, this will disrupt the algo which might effect your good performing ads.
Launch them in new campaigns or new ad sets!
Regarding the
For a SOI lead gen in a Tier 2 the CR needs to be higher generally, although volume isn't that representative but still, I think other offer could do better! Could be a weak brand too, hard to decide. Perhaps ask advertiser/network what average CR is on FB traffic, but honestly I would test some others too. Good luck!
stuart_nl are you still running this camp? It would be great to hear more about your progress. 
Hey Wakeboarder,
Yes I'm still working on it, thanks for asking! It's been a crazy week here so I am not making as much progress as I would like, but here's a quick update of how things are going.
First of all, I paused the first campaign as the CR wouldn't get any higher than posted in a previous post. I started a 2nd campaign with another offer same GEO. It’s a supermarket voucher, also a €1 pay-out, and with a bit more info to fill in: “Where do we send your voucher?”
This campaign was a bit different in results in the sense that some my ads were getting a good relevance score:

As you can see the one with score 10 did really great considering CTR and CPC. The counter side however was a lower CTR for LP --> offer (267/1118 = 24%) and a lower CR on the offer's side:

On the CR side I’m still a bit staring in the dark: could I improve something to make this campaign perform better or should I expect better results in the first place before tweaking anything (except for pausing high-CPC ads)?
So... What I've learned so far:
1) I am starting to get a better feeling of what kind of images do well on FB. My best performing ad was something like: find the lady bug in a box full of red berries. It was fun to see that ppl actually started reacting on that ad, although it was too simple anyway. For me it was just a test to see what works and what doesn't. Also I only got one negative comment on that one (they're crooks!) so I just clicked 'hide' next to that comment
The counter side of this ad was (IMHO) that ppl were just more focused on finding the lady bug than proceeding to my little survey (LP). So what I want to try next is to come up with a question which links to my survey somehow (let them answer the question in the survey).
2) I am getting more and more convinced that this thing could really work haha
3) I'm not there yet, but I want to be able to stick to a simple system which allows me to test offers in a relatively cheap way. I still have a small budget so I want to be able to ditch bad-performing offers without burning too much money. I am still finding my way how to do that efficiently. What I understand from other posts and especially Stickupkid's tutorial is that images are your most important asset in FB campaigns.
To be continued.. (have to pick up my daughter from horse riding
)
So, to continue my update:
I set up my third campaign today.
GEO: Germany
Offer: IKEA Gutschein
Targeting: Women 30+ who like IKEA
LP: simple survey with some questions about IKEA
Offer page: SOI with email+name only
Pay-out: €2.40
I just launched my first adset (3 ads) and here the first doubts arise already:
Should I target ppl who like vouchers etc. separately from the beginning or should I include them?
Should I give priority to testing more images first? So a possible test could be:
"Test as many as possible images together with a broader targeting (e.g. IKEA + voucher interests) to find winning images first. After that, split-test different age groups and different interests with my best images."
My point is: There are so many aspects to test, so in what order should one prioritize? Are images alone enough to identify good performing sweeps offers? Of course your lander should fit in the funnel, but should your lander better be optimized/split-tested in a later stage only? Same with headlines/angles. If I had enough budget (and more experience) I would probably test at least 6 different images against 3 different angles to start with --> 18 ads x €5,=/day ... But I'm not that far yet '-) Any useful advice is welcome here 
Thanks for your clear answer, sounds quite logical
What about the text above the image? Can it help for sweeps or may it distract too much? Is less more here?
I now added something like 'Answer just a few questions for a chance to win an IKEA voucher. Click the image to participate'. Furthermore I removed the action (learn more / apply now) button as it seemed a bit useless in combination with my statement above.
Quick update:
My German IKEA offer didn't give me one single conversion after 30 clicks while I had a quite decent CTR from lander to offer (IMO):
108 clicks (all) on FB
62 link clicks on FB (still a bit vague to me what the exact difference is with the clicks (all) column)
57 LP views (= my survey lander)
30 clicks to offer
CPC was a bit high on the other hand: €0.20 on average, €0.11/relevance score 8 for my lowest CPC)
So I paused it for the weekend as I didn't have time to work on it, but I'm doing some right now:
- Changed the linked FB page: I think the Germans are a bit more sceptical than my former audience (Poland). My page was something with vouchers giveaways, so I created a new page with IKEA-minded stuff and linked that one to my ads
- I uploaded a few more images in a new adset, paused the worst performing ones and activated my best-performing image again. Let's see what happens 
One remark about the
Oh and why not share a screenshot of my lander?
I wonder if I'm not pushing it a bit too much with the fake FB top bar and fake comments below the survey?

I am really interested to see results and the opinion of the pros here. Is this not to aggressive to stay under the radar without cloaking? same style like FB and a lot of fake testimonials? I would be a bit scared to run this :-) but maybe i am wrong. good luck !!!
Well I would like to call these testimonials just ‘example testimonials’
and as another member mentioned: it’s not BH/GH itself that triggers FB, but the negative user comments. On the other hand, as long as these users just complain in the comments without reporting your ad, it looks like pure engagement to me 
Furthermore, as my ad spending is really low, I don’t expect any FB representative to bother me with a manual review. In other words: stay low and let’s have fun experimenting is my slogan for now (but maybe I’m being too brave...).
Oh and a quick update: Images really do the trick! One of my new images gave me 7 conversions already this afternoon (35 clicks to offer) while with my old images I got 0. yes zero. This means that today I could end up in the green zone for the first time ever 
So what am I gonna do next? Find more images, which is also a lot of fun to do I think.
I will give a numbers update tomorrow.
Sent from my sweeps iPhone with STM Forums
OK here's a first moment of truth: an overview of my last three days of IKEA promotion (see LP screenshot in one of my previous posts):

As you can see I have at least had one green day
So.. What do these numbers tell me? First of all, it wasn't a new image that gave me my first conversions (as I thought earlier, see previous posts), but the change of linked fanpage (from giveaway page to ikea-like fanpage).
Geo: Germany
Targeting: Women 30-50 y/o who like IKEA, IKEA Deutschland, IKEA catalogue + interest expansion
offer payout: €2,40
Placements: FB Moblie newsfeed
The red can partly be explained by testing more images that didn't work at all (so now I know) which used a substantial part of my ad spend. Still, also the converting ads alone won't seem to give me more green days. BTW: My highest achieved FB CTR (impressions>LP) for an ad was 5,08% averaged over 3 days with a CPC of €0,10
Question: What could explain the decreasing CR? I can of course still try to achieve a lower CPC for compensating a lower CR but I don't know what's wise to do here. BTW I raised my budgets just a bit (around 20% for what it's worth on this small scale) so maybe that might have had some influence?
Your prelander CTR for a sweep is quite low I must say. Around 40% should be possible at least!
Before scaling let your ads run for a couple of days so FB has the time to learn and optimize. Scaling too fast could result in a algo fuck up.
Some scale big time with succes (talking about going from 20 to 200 and even to 500 in one day), but this is not relevant for you since we talk relatively small budgets here. For this one you should be quite sure about the potential of your ad and monitor closely.
Sent from my iPhone using STM Forums mobile app
Thx!
What should I use to calculate this CTR anyway? Now I used clicks (all) but I could also use the number of LP views or just link clicks (lower numbers). Clicks (all) is defined by FB as just all clicks on your ads.
[edit] Forget about my careless question
I should use link clicks (clicks (all) include clicks to pages as well for example). IN that case the CTR looks like this:
| Link Clicks | CTR |
| 125 | 31,20% |
| 174 | 32,18% |
| 328 | 18,29% |