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propeller ads and tracking costs (10)


10-19-2016 05:32 PM #1 vincent9 (Member)
propeller ads and tracking costs

hey

i have just started using propeller ads and i cant see any costs being shown in my Voluum.

is this a set up issue or does propeller just not pass on costs to the tracker?

if this is the case how do you update your costs manually into your tracker.

thanks!


10-19-2016 06:26 PM #2 servandosilva (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by vincent9 View Post
hey

i have just started using propeller ads and i cant see any costs being shown in my Voluum.

is this a set up issue or does propeller just not pass on costs to the tracker?

if this is the case how do you update your costs manually into your tracker.

thanks!
They don't have cost tokens so you'll need to update it manually.
In Voluum, select the campaign you want to update and click the "Update costs" button from the menu to add your daily costs.

Or you can try using a fixed CPM but there will always be a difference because of click loss and other variables.


10-19-2016 08:12 PM #3 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Yup, right now you have it set to "do not track costs" you need to set it to the CPM or CPC option. As servandosilva already mentioned, you will never reach 100% accuracy. It's not possible due to the click loss he mentioned and also a floating price that you pay per click or impression with any network that supports smart bidding or "second highest bid" system. In such networks you never pay exactly the same amount as you bid so you can't set it in your tracking. This is one of the annoyances of AM that you have to get used to.


10-19-2016 08:56 PM #4 danielt (Member)

You could set up your Voluum cpm 15-20% higher based on the average clickloss from Propeller. If you put $1 in Propeller, put $1.2 in Voluum. However I see Voluum does not update
costs even if manual cpm is specified ** weird **


10-19-2016 09:54 PM #5 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by danielt View Post
You could set up your voluum cpm 15-20% higher based on the average clickloss from Propeller. If you put $1 in Propeller, put $1.2 in Voluum. However I see Voluum does not update
costs even if manual cpm is specified ** weird **
CPM tracking requires the impression pixel I think, I've never used this option myself, but I believe that's how it works.

Read this for more info : http://feedback.Voluum.com/knowledge...ssion-tracking


10-19-2016 11:24 PM #6 voluum (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by matuloo View Post
CPM tracking requires the impression pixel I think, I've never used this option myself, but I believe that's how it works.

Read this for more info : http://feedback.Voluum.com/knowledge...ssion-tracking
Hey guys,

Correct. You'll need to have a Voluum impression pixel (campaign specific) placed on Propeller's end to start recording CPM costs to your campaign.
That is, impressions need to be recorded to reflect CPM costs.

If impression tracking isn't supported by Propeller, then you'll have to go with a fixed CPC amount for the campaign to get a rough idea of your traffic costs. $1,2/1000 = 0.0012 CPC

There will be of course a significant difference in costs reported across platforms, so you'll have to calibrate this by performing a manual cost update for the campaign at daily / hourly intervals.
Here's our KB article with an overview of using the MCU tool.

Hope this helps and let me know if you hit any obstacles.

Kind regards,
Adrian


10-20-2016 02:37 PM #7 vincent9 (Member)

thanks for the replies!

so im guessing that the best idea here would be to imput your cpm/cpc bid +20%, to eyeball your stats...
then manually update your costs once the budget has been depleted.

im guessing manuelly updating costs once the campaign budget has run down,
would be a good idea for whatever traffic source you are running on,
since even the ones that do pass back costs seem to be off by 20 percent all the time.


10-20-2016 04:50 PM #8 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by vincent9 View Post
thanks for the replies!

so im guessing that the best idea here would be to imput your cpm/cpc bid +20%, to eyeball your stats...
then manually update your costs once the budget has been depleted.

im guessing manuelly updating costs once the campaign budget has run down,
would be a good idea for whatever traffic source you are running on,
since even the ones that do pass back costs seem to be off by 20 percent all the time.
Yes, you will see how much extra % you need after a pretty short period of time, the difference can go up and down at times, but I usually see pretty stable difference when staying in the same GEO.

In campaigns where I need more accurate data, I manually update costs after certain time period, for example: I would update yesterdays data today in the morning. But in many cases, I just know what the difference is and keep that in mind when doing optimization decisions and I don't update the costs at all.


10-21-2016 01:06 PM #9 cbrughmans (Member)

Be careful with pop traffic when working with a third party tracking software (propeller has both pops & banners). They can eat up all your margin. For banners there shouldn't be a problem.


01-27-2017 10:49 AM #10 aloeveraa1491 (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by matuloo View Post
Yes, you will see how much extra % you need after a pretty short period of time, the difference can go up and down at times, but I usually see pretty stable difference when staying in the same GEO.

In campaigns where I need more accurate data, I manually update costs after certain time period, for example: I would update yesterdays data today in the morning. But in many cases, I just know what the difference is and keep that in mind when doing optimization decisions and I don't update the costs at all.
Regarding when you manually update costs - is there a process or tutorial on how to do it properly? I've been on the Voluum MCU help link and still quite confused with some stuff

I also posted my inability to manually update costs from TS to Voluum here in my Follow Along > https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post301718

Could you assist me on this small issue so Im finally able to properly analyze my campaigns? @.@


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