Home > Paid Traffic Sources >

NBA Stars Twitter accounts targeted to push Acai? (25)


01-16-2012 12:57 AM #1 AdrianM (Member)
NBA Stars Twitter accounts targeted to push Acai?

I've become a big fan of the Miami Heat this year.

I follow one of their star players on twitter. Just noticed he tweeted (about 15 mins ago) to his 2,458,714 followers "Want to lose any weight? go here: acainewsfarticle best product for losing weight." .... no advertising hashtag.

Interesting ... someone jacked his account obviously? Poor guy gonna get some hate tweets for that one lol


01-16-2012 12:59 AM #2 stackman (Administrator)

Hahah, take a screenshot
Would absolutely love to know the stats from that single tweet!


01-16-2012 01:09 AM #3 AdrianM (Member)

I crossed out the site -- don't wanna oust someone on stm, though you can see it if you just peep his twitter.


01-16-2012 01:13 AM #4 AdrianM (Member)

Oh snap!!! He just pushed another tweet to a diff. farticle site for a similar product.

Poor guy. I'm not cool with peeps messing with celebs credibility with stuff like that, tbh. Would love to see stats though.


01-16-2012 01:19 AM #5 jeffreynilges (Member)

Looks like the account is already suspended...


01-16-2012 01:35 AM #6 profitable ()

nope, it's still running. wow, funny thing is people are retweeting and favoring the posts...


01-16-2012 01:44 AM #7 AdrianM (Member)

::Eating Popcorn:: -- watching the replies. People are asking him if he is using that to help treat his injured ankle, if he really uses it, etc.


01-16-2012 01:54 AM #8 MJDUB (Senior Member)

That's awesome. Someone is seriously banking off that I bet.


01-16-2012 01:56 AM #9 jeffreynilges (Member)

^^^ I've been watching the replies too... people saying "thanks to his recommendation their wife is trying it", etc. -- crazy!


01-16-2012 01:57 AM #10 shoent (Member)

wow , somebody is making a damn kiling i bet


01-16-2012 02:01 AM #11 inversion (Member)

Fake news site. Star athlete. This should turn out well.


01-16-2012 02:59 AM #12 sm1810 (Member)

twitter it pretty interesting model if you can make it work... I have a celebrity in Mexico which has 2.8m followers and about to start testing some CPA stuff in the next 2 weeks... will be happy to provide some stats.. it'll be twitter --> celeb LP --> cart


01-16-2012 03:05 AM #13 m0thm4n (Member)

Maybe he's just decided to try out affiliate marketing


01-16-2012 03:12 AM #14 mattmatt483 (Senior Member)

checked the stats for the goo.gl url here they are for today
7448 clicks on this short URL
And the click count seems to be rising fast. Went up by 100 clicks in 3 minutes


01-16-2012 03:42 AM #15 Mr Green (Administrator)

Wow this is some interesting shiat.


01-16-2012 03:45 AM #16 Mr Green (Administrator)

Lol that link redirects to Castle Age (facebook game) for me.


01-16-2012 03:47 AM #17 nitroman (Member)

This confirms he was hacked https://twitter.com/#!/DwyaneWade/st...47141177753601


01-16-2012 04:03 AM #18 corp (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by nitroman View Post
lol, he still hasn't deleted the previous two posts yet.


01-16-2012 04:31 AM #19 Mr Green (Administrator)

Lol just listening to golden globes live. This dude from the Modern Family TV show just mentioned his twitter got hacked, and some links were posted about diet pills.


01-16-2012 04:54 AM #20 AdrianM (Member)

Yeah - I agree, I wonder why he has yet to delete the said, hacked, tweets.

10k hits most likely to those given the previous stats posted in the thread and that's just from the short URL, the first post may have had same.


01-16-2012 05:18 AM #21 profitable ()

so let's say at 15,000 clicks and a 2% conversion rate = 300 sales x $45 payout = $13,500 profit so far today?

and the links are still up... problem is that they are probably being left up to be gathered as evidence. I believe he sued the last guys that hacked his twitter. so if they can track them down (and they could very easily with an aff id) they could get hit hard.


01-16-2012 08:18 AM #22 vidivo (Member)

nah dude they are legit... they are even promoting their own product/acai thing... Only thing is its not even a rebill its a sale offer.. probably based somewhere in europe, not to mention it could be a complete scam site .. tehehehe!


01-16-2012 10:15 AM #23 wright (Member)

i see a business model here:

yo, celeb x push these tweets on your x,xxx,xxx follower account and later say it got hacked for a cool 5k to 10k

also the hacker could've done a way better job with his tweets. I'd think the injured ankle angle would've worked way better than those generic msgs.


01-17-2012 05:59 AM #24 rileypool (Member)

I forget where I saw it, but someone used bit.ly links and looked at the stats when that happened and it wasn't nearly as many clicks as one would think. They were also taken down pretty quickly too. I forget which account it was.


01-17-2012 07:23 AM #25 ppvnewbie (Member)

Nothing new, I saw Valentino Rossi's account pushing some email/zip submits last year...and the tweets aren't from Valentino fo sho! :-)


Home > Paid Traffic Sources >