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1st Native Ads Follow Along - Let's get rich (39)


05-30-2019 04:25 PM #1 micoangelo (Member)
1st Native Ads Follow Along - Let's get rich

This is my first native campaign. This is also my first follow along. Let's get straight to it.

OFFER:
Has a payout of ~$50.

My A.M. says this offer is working and I've verified that it's even been running on a few different networks (for several months).

TRAFFIC:
Taboola

BUDGET:
1-2x of the payout so I'll spend $50 - $100 per day...

Can I hope to optimize out the sh*t widgets on that budget? Can you get to minimal profitability/breakeven on that much? How long could that take?

GEO:
Australia. This offer has a lot of geo's. But, I wanted to hit a smaller / less competitive geo before trying the bigger ones. I'm going to use smart bid... what's a good bid range for testing in AUS desktop and mobile?

Sidenote: I saw that Brazil was also an option. Should I switch my geo to BR since it likely has way cheaper clicks than AUS?

Looking forward to posting updates and seeing what everyone has to say.

X minds are better than 1!


--Mico "Affiliate Dark Arts" Angelo


05-30-2019 04:26 PM #2 micoangelo (Member)

RESULTS:
I spent $150 so far over 3 days. Had 1 conversion on the first day actually... Is this a good sign or a fluke? Got nothing on day 2 and day 3...


SADLY, I didn't have my tracker set up right so the conversion only showed in my affiliate network's dashboard.


OPTIMIZER:
I didn't have one set up so now I'm setting up my theoptimizer.io but still kind of rough on what rules are best and how many of them to use at this stage.


05-31-2019 03:17 AM #3 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Going to be tough to optimize with that kind of budget for a $50 offer. A single conversion or two can totally change things, and not at all surprising that you converted one day and not another.

But 1 conversion so far is at least a good sign.

How is your ad ctr looking?

I haven't run AU on Taboola yet, but I would guess around $0.50 mobile, $0.75 desktop to start then lower each day and see how it's looking.

At the budget you're running with I would say focus more on Taboola's reporting and making adjustments there then worrying about getting rules setup, but that's just me.


05-31-2019 04:16 AM #4 chris r (Member)

Did you rip a lander from Adplexity or are you using the offers premade landers?

I'll definitely be following this thread. I want to get into native so bad but I'm terrified of the budgets required.

Wish you the best dude!

-Chris


06-01-2019 04:33 AM #5 micoangelo (Member)

Thanks! No it's custom. Will let you know how it does.

UPDATE:

Here's a tip to save you some time in the review process... My ads have been stuck in review for 2 days due to a tiny error. Apparently on Taboola you cannot capitalize the first letter of every word in your headlines, unless it's running the USA.


06-01-2019 04:41 AM #6 micoangelo (Member)

All of the CTR's seem pretty shite to me. Taboola clearly chose to boost one ad, no?

Impressions CTR Clicks Average CPC CPM
Ad1
269,705 0.06% 165 $0.460 $0.28
Ad2
67,852 0.05% 37 $0.474 $0.26
Ad3
39,219 0.03% 13 $0.482 $0.16


Idk maybe this is okay but the CTR seems low even for native. My other experience with analyzing ad CTR's are from FB and push ads, so I'm used to higher ones.

What's a proper daily budget for a $50 offer? 2x-3x?


06-01-2019 05:40 AM #7 jack_l (Veteran Member)

I think all that sounds quite reasonable actually. Very decent choices for a first campaign.

If it's an ecom offer the ctr is a little low but not too far out of what's normal. They usually have lower ctr's, although not as low as lead gen like life insurance or refi. Just keep uploading ads and waiting for one to 'take'.

If you are using SmartBid you won't want to adjust coefficients on pub's. Their SmartBid is literally bidding on individual PEOPLE, not sites, so even if one site is doing bad, you have to remember they aren't purposefully bidding on that SITE for you, they are bidding on PEOPLE who happen to be on that site at that moment.

There's literally a dozen+ variables going into which impressions they are choosing to bid on, so you can't treat it like a fixed bid campaign where the publisher is main determinant. I wasted tons of money not realizing that when I started on Taboola so learn from my mistake

Taboola's SmartBid is more like Facebook than it is Revcontent or Outbrain. So on the SmartBid I'd just let it do it's thing and at most just block pubs completely if they are doing really bad, but don't change the coefficients (that's just my two cents though of course).

You can also certainly try Fixed Bid if you want, although I get better results on SmartBid.

You can also block certain territories, although you'll need to spend way more on the campaign before you have enough data to reliably do that.

But yeah, just let it keep spending and see if it keeps converting. Try to look at the stats on a wider scale than just day to day. See how it looks after the first 250$ maybe. There's no 'right' budget, just how fast you want to buy data. I think 50$ a day is very appropriate in this case.

And then yeah, make sure to get the conversions posting back to Taboola, because that is how the SmartBid is going to know what's working and what to bid on.

Great work!


06-03-2019 01:04 AM #8 micoangelo (Member)

UPDATE #2 @ 5:45 p.m. PST (somewhere in southern California)


Yo! There's been a BIG change. I switched geo's from Australia to a different country. Hear me out...
I found out from my affiliate manager that AUS has fierce competition (= high bids).

According to them, there are another couple smaller geos that are doing well (revenue X conversion rate).

Good news:
These geos aren't showing up on adplexity... so I'm hoping that means I have some kind of mini advantage. What do you guys think? Is it just too small to even be picked up on adplexity?

Anyway, I'm happy because the bids are cheaper! So, as an added bonus I know this geo will buy me way more data on my smaller budget.

I know you may be thinking: I'm an idiot for even mentioning it on STM, but hey man, at least I'm not mentioning what geo's.

Side note, I trust my A.M. isn't lying to me. They showed me the numbers.

LONG story SHORT:
This all means I had to translate my LP and ads. Now, I'm just waiting for approval once more.

I hope this works.


Talk to you soon,
Mico Angelo

P.S. I'm proud of you and I appreciate you. Has anyone said that to you recently?


06-12-2019 11:18 PM #9 micoangelo (Member)

UPDATE 4: 06/12/19 @ 4:05 p.m. PST

Long story short: I got my second conversion today... but it's the first real one... and plus, it was profitable too (50+% ROI).

What did it take to get here?

-I had to switch GEO's 3 times.
-6 campaigns got disapproved.
-Got my ads and LP's translated into 2 different languages that I don't speak.
-1 campaign where the tracking was set up wrong (so I flushed my money/conversion down the toilet)
-Not giving up

My daily budget is still split $33/$33/$33 into 3 campaigns that are testing different device types.

This is less than 1x CPA for each but 2x with all of them combined.

How do you block some shitty OS placements?

Should I start to scale up the profitable widget, ad, and campaign yet? I was planning to wait 3 days before touching anything.


06-20-2019 04:45 AM #10 micoangelo (Member)

Update 5:

Dear Stackers,

It's difficult to get this current offer to work -- I want to blame the offer and say it's dying down, but that's not true. My AM says it's still pulling.

I've now spent $776 on a RON campaign with 2 conversions thus far (one was in another geo entirely). I'll spend up to $3K testing this offer before I move on to a new one. Don't they say you need to spend $5-10K to test an offer? Yikes. Hopefully not in a cheaper geo.

Next, I'm going to try whitelists that I find on adplexity and any from my traffic rep.

Budget: I've still been spending $66 - $100 a day... (one campaign had all the ads disapproved... lol). I'm using smart bid with a high initial bid and my low'ish budget lasts from like 9am to 6pm. However, I'm getting like ~30 clicks per campaign.

Getting a CTR of 0.21% to 0.29% on the custom creatives that I've been testing. Is that good? They are not getting sales so I feel like it is. Anyway, like I said, I have had a lot of my custom headlines angles denied. Thanks Taboola!

I'm using an advertorial landing page from adplexity (has been running for a while could it be burnt out?). I'm tempted to try a listicle advertorial as I see a lot of those... except I don't have some of the mixed offers running on there. I'm going to just fill in different offers.

Meanwhile I have a push campaign that I haven't been paying attention to that will get a profitable conversion every other day without me even paying attention to it.

Anyway back to native now, should I launch a retargeting campaign? What's my next step?


06-20-2019 04:46 AM #11 micoangelo (Member)

Update 5:

Dear Stackers,

It's difficult to get this current offer to work -- I want to blame the offer and say it's dying down, but that's not true. My AM says it's still pulling.

I've now spent $776 on a RON campaign with 2 conversions thus far (one was in another geo entirely). I'll spend up to $3K testing this offer before I move on to a new one. Don't they say you need to spend $5-10K to test an offer? Yikes. Hopefully not in a cheaper geo.

Next, I'm going to try whitelists that I find on adplexity and any from my traffic rep.

Budget: I've still been spending $66 - $100 a day... (one campaign had all the ads disapproved... lol). I'm using smart bid with a high initial bid and my low'ish budget lasts from like 9am to 6pm. However, I'm getting like ~30 clicks per campaign.

Getting a CTR of 0.21% to 0.29% on the custom creatives that I've been testing. Is that good? They are not getting sales so I feel like it is NOT. Anyway, like I said, I have had a lot of my custom headlines angles denied. Thanks Taboola!

I'm using an advertorial landing page from adplexity (has been running for a while could it be burnt out?). I'm tempted to try a listicle advertorial as I see a lot of those... except I don't have some of the mixed offers running on there. I'm going to just fill in different offers.

Meanwhile I have a push campaign that I haven't been paying attention to that will get a profitable conversion every other day without me even touching it.

Anyway back to native now, should I launch a retargeting campaign? What's my next step?


06-20-2019 08:32 AM #12 diplomat (Member)

What's your LP's CTR?


06-20-2019 05:32 PM #13 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by diplomat View Post
What's your LP's CTR?
Hey Diplomat,

I'm testing two landing pages that are super similar (just the hero image is different):

Bemob has UCTR and CTR (I don't know if there is a big difference)

UCTR:

LP1: 5.40%
LP2: 7.51%

CTR:

LP1: 6.02%
LP2: 9.12%

LP1 has a CR of 3.03% and an EPC of $1.75
LP2 CR is 0%

What do you think?


06-20-2019 06:08 PM #14 diplomat (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Hey Diplomat,

I'm testing two landing pages that are super similar (just the hero image is different):

Bemob has UCTR and CTR (I don't know if there is a big difference)

UCTR:

LP1: 5.40%
LP2: 7.51%

CTR:

LP1: 6.02%
LP2: 9.12%

LP1 has a CR of 3.03% and an EPC of $1.75
LP2 CR is 0%

What do you think?
Well, it's not that bad, but it's not the best too. Try to increase your LP's CTR because the more people see the offer the better.


06-20-2019 08:52 PM #15 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by diplomat View Post
Well, it's not that bad, but it's not the best too. Try to increase your LP's CTR because the more people see the offer the better.
Yeah compared to PUSH where the LP CTR is 50%+ it looks like shit eh?

I'm just using landers that I have ripped, that are have been running for a long time. I'm guessing that means they are working.

Do you run natives? What verticals, traffic sources, etc?


06-22-2019 05:00 AM #16 micoangelo (Member)

Update #6

So my affiliate manager recommended that I should try a different ecom offer... in a different GEO.

Apparently he tracked down an offer for me that is working well as a single-product-specific funnel on native. No listicle needed here.

But, I would have to run it in the USA...

Is it shiny object syndrome to try a new offer at this point? I have no idea if this has a higher chance of success or not.

I kind of hit a wall with my DE campaign. That said, I just had a friend from STM pass me a whitelist of placements that work for taboola/outbrain ecom offers.

Any recommendations? Should I stick to the DE campaign (spent $1K with 1 sale)...?

Don't know if I even have enough experience or data to make the call.


06-26-2019 09:01 PM #17 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Hey apologies on the delay here. We've been corresponding a bit via PM but I think would be good to put thoughts here too.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Update 5:

Dear Stackers,

It's difficult to get this current offer to work -- I want to blame the offer and say it's dying down, but that's not true. My AM says it's still pulling.
You mentioned the offer to me in a PM. I've tested it too myself & couldn't make it work at least in the US. Other offers did a lot better there. I could see it doing better in other geos, but I think there are likely better offers to run there too. Also could be that Facebook is driving the bulk of the volume, or via listicles.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
I've now spent $776 on a RON campaign with 2 conversions thus far (one was in another geo entirely). I'll spend up to $3K testing this offer before I move on to a new one. Don't they say you need to spend $5-10K to test an offer? Yikes. Hopefully not in a cheaper geo.

Ouch that's pretty rough for a first campaign. You definitely don't need to spend $3k just to see if an offer has legs; that's something you can tell within the first few hundred of spend usually and definitely by the $1k mark after you've had more experience on native. The problem right now is this offer is your only point of reference to compare to, eg your baseline. You really just need need to test more offers.

The $5-10k spend in my experience is after you've already found an offer that's converting and has potential, but want to scale its daily volume and get it to break-even until you find that edge to push it over into the green.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Next, I'm going to try whitelists that I find on adplexity and any from my traffic rep.
Whitelists on adplexity or other spy tools can be misleading because it's only what the bots are picking up, and usually there's no sort of weight or indicator attached to the sites with more volume.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Getting a CTR of 0.21% to 0.29% on the custom creatives that I've been testing. Is that good?
Pretty good actually. Is that just mobile?

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
I'm using an advertorial landing page from adplexity (has been running for a while could it be burnt out?). I'm tempted to try a listicle advertorial as I see a lot of those... except I don't have some of the mixed offers running on there. I'm going to just fill in different offers.
I would avoid listicles for now until you've got a few standalone campaigns doing well, as they require even bigger budgets and even more optimization.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Update #7

Background: This is a white hat campaign for an e-com gadget. Very vanilla, not running any aggressive angles.

I have not heard back from my rep at taboola yet. But, I'm guessing it's because this is a lander from the affiliate network with some real facebook comments from their facebook page.

Do you think that's why the campaign got disabled?
Possibly. I always strive to duplicate the hosted lander on my own domain so you can see the LP CTR. The more data to work with the better. Those networks do let you see event stats for offers like hosted LP clicks, but it's too much of a pain to do it that way IMO. One potential big reason you would have them host the lander is if you're wanting to run on Google I believe.

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Anyway, how do the bids look?
US Desktop? A bit high, but you can always lower them. Try to think of it more as "I'm going to spend $100 at high bids and see how my CPM looks at the start". That's really the metric to keep an eye on for driving volume and basing bids around, because that's what ad networks optimize for to maximize their return. If you have a great CPM then you have breathing room to lowering it, and if your CPM sucks then you know you're going to need better CTR ads.

Re fixed vs smartbid, I'm still getting a handle on Taboola with fixed vs smartbid, but I've mostly only done smartbid so far and that's what Ralfs seems to recommend too.


06-26-2019 10:10 PM #18 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by thedudeabides View Post
Pretty good actually. Is that just mobile?

Possibly. I always strive to duplicate the hosted lander on my own domain so you can see the LP CTR....

US Desktop? A bit high, but you can always lower them. Try to think of it more as "I'm going to spend $100 at high bids and see how my eCPM looks at the start". That's really the metric to keep an eye on for driving volume and basing bids around, because that's what ad networks optimize for to maximize their return. If you have a great eCPM then you have breathing room to lowering it, and if you're eCPM sucks then you know you're going to need better CTR ads.
No worries about the delay. I appreciate your very detailed feedback!

So, firstly, that CTR was actually all from desktop. Maybe it's due to the fact I was testing custom images and headlines? That said, the 1 conversion I got was from a way-lower CTR ad. It's headline & image were copied from adplexity (oh the irony).

The current funnel I'll be running (that's doing well according to my AM) is:
advertorial (hosted by my vultr VPS) --> short VSL (hosted by network) --> direct to checkout offer page (hosted by network)

Would you say I also host the VSL? That seems like a smart thing to do to track the LP CTR.

I found out the campaign was disabled due to my own mistake (I left a comment in the comments section of my campaign, which auto-disables campaigns until your traffic rep responds to you).

Thanks for helping me reframe how to think at the start of campaigns (e.g. "buying a little bit of eCPM data").

🙏🏻 I appreciate you!


06-26-2019 10:36 PM #19 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post

Would you say I also host the VSL? That seems like a smart thing to do to track the LP CTR.
In that case no, just the advertorial.

Also I see your LP CTR of 5-10% is low. Generally speaking you should be above 15-20% CTR on native for good quality traffic, especially Taboola. Maybe things are different in a foreign geo, but still that seems too low.


06-27-2019 05:42 PM #20 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by thedudeabides View Post
In that case no, just the advertorial.

Also I see your LP CTR of 5-10% is low. Generally speaking you should be above 15-20% CTR on native for good quality traffic, especially Taboola. Maybe things are different in a foreign geo, but still that seems too low.
So, yesterday my Taboola rep kindly gave me a US whitelist for ecom-friendly placements. I blocked all the RON placements that weren't on that list.

As of today, I already shot through $215 in spend at $0.95 fixed bidding (yesterday afternoon to the next morning at 10:30am).

No conversions yet. My new LP's CTR is 15.33% ... while the UCTR is 7.46%... idk which one is the CTR that matters more.

My eCPM right now seems really small to me: $0.001163. I calculated this by hand (cpc x clicks)/(impressions).

That said, I have no idea what a good eCPM is. What's a good range to be in for driving volume / figuring out bidding?

I switched to smart bid at $0.85... just to test eCPM for one more day.

Let's see what happens.


06-27-2019 09:57 PM #21 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Ah sorry I goofed I meant CPM not eCPM, was thinking in terms of the ad networks earnings.

Your CPM is shown in Taboola's reporting.

I don't know how things are in other geos but my experience with US so far is that you need to be hitting $0.20 CPM to drive volume in the 4 figure range. Under $0.10 would be pretty poor and not sure how much daily spend you could achieve with that even on RON.


06-27-2019 10:32 PM #22 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by thedudeabides View Post
Ah sorry I goofed I meant CPM not eCPM, was thinking in terms of the ad networks earnings.

Your CPM is shown in Taboola's reporting.

I don't know how things are in other geos but my experience with US so far is that you need to be hitting $0.20 CPM to drive volume in the 4 figure range. Under $0.10 would be pretty poor and not sure how much daily spend you could achieve with that even on RON.

No worries dude! Also, I'm testing a new offer in the US, so yes that advice applies to me.

Did you mean the overall CPM from the campaign summary section? Oh, that's how much money Taboola makes?

In that case, right now my CPM ​is $1.12 on average. That is a good sign I could spend a lot at this bid, but then again, my CPC bid has been crazy high.

Do native ad networks like Taboola want to maximize their earnings? Yes.

So, the higher the CTR and the higher the bid, the more money they make... which means:
high CTR + high bid is the trump card for the ad network to make the most money.

Haha I don't know why I'm talking through the logic. I guess, I find it weird that I'm doing everything "right," but it's still not converting for me. Clearly, I can get around having shitty ads for right now with high bids.

Does that mean it's a placements issue? The same offer & funnel combo is converting at 4% for others running this offer on native.


06-28-2019 01:49 AM #23 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Your CPM is probably $1+ most likely because of a few high CTR sites in the mix (check the site reports) and the high bids.

Let me explain it another way...

If you have one ad with CTR of 0.10% costing $0.50 CPC and then you create a new one that's performing similarly but has a CTR of 0.20 % then you can afford to drop your CPCs by half to $0.25 and likely receive the same amount of volume, increasing your ROI.

The other side is of course your offer performance. A metric I find useful sometimes is the eCPC, the cost of the click to the offer. Once you've got an idea of the EPC of the offer, either from running your own traffic or what others are doing on similar sources by asking your affiliate manager, then you know how far off you are.

For example, if the offer EPC to shoot for is $1.5, but you're paying $0.50 CPC on the traffic source and only getting a LP CTR of 10%, then it takes 10 visits to get a click to your offer, so your eCPC works out to $5 ($0.50 x 100/10). Paying $5 to make $1.5 on average so a lot of work needs to be done.

However with a LP CTR of 20%, now your eCPC is $2.5 ($0.50 x 100/20) and it's looking a lot more doable to reach break-even. Then with just some better CTR ads for example(assuming they convert the same) you could afford to lower your CPC and likely push things into the green.

But again on offers. If somethings only converted twice @ $50 after $1k spend, then it's time to test something else.

Keep testing new offers, and learning through experience what #s you need to hit on those things I've mentioned, and you'll know much sooner once you've got a hot offer, especially on those sources with high quality traffic. I still think you should maybe go after leadgen though to make it easier on yourself instead of a sale.


06-28-2019 05:48 AM #24 jacekplacek (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by thedudeabides View Post
If somethings only converted twice @ $50 after $1k spend, then it's time to test something else.
+1
yeah, a -90% roi is too far away from profitability IMO.

Here are my rules of thumb for new campaigns on native:
-80% roi or worse -> stop and test different campaigns
between -80% to -50% -> lower exposure on this campaign and "repackage" it into a new campaign. This could mean try different geo/device/angles
-50% or better -> split test with totally different ads, lp's and offers and optimize.


07-07-2019 06:37 PM #25 micoangelo (Member)

Here's a follow along update as of 7/7/19:


I have been doing some thinking and have DM'd a lot of people for advice:

I am going to switch from SS (straight sale) offers to leadgen offers. I think that this will be a somewhat easier campaign conversion goal to learn with... As compared to ecom offers.

Yes, in theory, given that you start with a ripped funnel (ads, LP, & offer)... it shouldn't be that hard to find a winner. But, you need higher budgets for testing ecom products that have payouts of $50+

I'm pretty convinced that I haven't been testing enough offers. Why is that?

I still haven't found a winning offer. I'm convinced that the offer is probably the most important part of the funnel... and it gets the least amount of data so it's important to get that variable right.

What does that mean? I need to test more offers!

So, in order to flip through more offers with my current war chest I am going to test things with lower payouts.

I'm tempted to keep my creative and LP variables fixed while I test various offers. I want to be sure that it's the offer that's working (insurance offer A vs. insurance offer B vs. insurance offer C). Is that a good idea or will it take too long to test (even if I use the exact same ads and LP's for all 3 offers)?

Anyway, what actions have I taken so far? I joined a new affiliate network that has several solid leadgen offers pulling in 4-5 figures a day. They have a good reputation so I trust my A.M.'s intel.

Thanks to everyone who has given me advice so far! Talk to you soon when I have something to share!


07-07-2019 11:44 PM #26 jack_l (Veteran Member)

Great work man! You seem to be continuing to approach all this in a very purposeful, deliberate manner and I think the conclusions you're drawing are good ones.

It is definitely tougher to test 50$ payout ecom offers than 20$ lead gen ones, especially starting out when you don't have a super-dependable whitelist of good widgets to test them on or something similar. That's not to say there aren't great ecom offers out there and bad lead gen ones, but the lower the payout the easier it is to optimize certainly.

As far as offers, I think you're spot on. I've been testing a lot of new offers lately on a really dependable set of (low volume) widgets, and even pulling the offer + ads + lp from Adplexity, and even with it being these super good (but again low volume) sites, I find only 10-25% of them work out like it seems they should. Definitely more like fishing than farming, to use an analogy I like to keep in mind.

And then yes- regarding your third to last paragraph, I think it's definitely normal to test multiple offers from the same vertical on an identical funnel. I would certainly change out the brand names or create multiple versions of the lp (for instance I wouldn't have a hyperlink saying "Coca-Cola" that links to a "Pepsi" offer if you see what I'm saying), but everything else would generally be fine.

Indeed I believe a lot of the top native media buyers in some of the evergreen verticals like Life Insurance, Refinance, Diabetes, Weight Loss, Auto Insurance, etc are routinely rotating in every new offer that comes up, just to see how each one performs against the others. You can also even test the same offer from different networks, just to see if you get a slightly different conversion rate on one network vs another.


07-16-2019 09:44 PM #27 micoangelo (Member)

Hey $tackers,



Launching a new native campaign today! I still need to find a great offer.

This time I'm testing lead gen in the USA with an $11 CPA. It's doing well and other people are making money with it right now so, that tells me that I can too!

Going to run it on Taboola using a leadgen whitelist of some sort from my rep at Taboola.

I will let you know how it GOE$! Screenshots to follow.



Best,
Micoangelo
P.S. It's all possible!


07-17-2019 12:14 AM #28 jack_l (Veteran Member)

Keep us updated man


07-23-2019 11:14 PM #29 micoangelo (Member)

Alright alright alright... $tackers

I think I may have found an offer with legs... It's my first day of testing this campaign and I've already grabbed 6 conversions.

The geo is the USA, the payout is in the $10-20 range.

Side note: It took literally FOREVER to get my creatives and LP approved (native ads problems).



Plan: Test the offer and placements for 3 days at a high bid and smallish budget then kill or scale.

Budget: I'm spending $50-100/day.
Targeting: I'm using a whitelist that one of my friends gave me.
Results: I got 5 conversions pretty quickly. One last conversion came in pretty late and I ended day1 of testing at +7.47% ROI.




How do the stats look (click the image below... how do you embed full images so they don't look like shit?):

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-07-23 at 3.58.22 PM.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	19.1 KB 
ID:	21801

With my current bid and budget I ran out of budget around 4:30 p.m. (started at 9 a.m.). This offer needs to be day parted to end at 5 p.m.



I'm pretty puzzled because literally 5 of the conversions came from the same placement. That same *one* placement was SUPER profitable. What should I do? Boost the budget and bid already? Cut other placements?

One conversion came in super late on a different placement.

My plan was to leave it alone for 2 more days, then make my decision then.

Anyway... I believe I can make this one work! It's already profitable... wow

P.S. The screenshot of my stats is from a few hours ago... when I thought I was done getting conversions for the day.


07-24-2019 12:01 AM #30 jack_l (Veteran Member)

Great work man! That's excellent

Can you change bids on the individual widgets/pubs?

If so you could just block any widget that gets to 1X cpa without a conversion (if you're aggressive... otherwise maybe 2x cpa), and raise the bid on the good pubs to 70% of EPC if the EPC is above your baseline bid.

But yeah, nothing wrong with leaving it alone for two days either! Especially with lead gen offers, there can be a lot of variability day to day.

Great work though man! That is exciting!


07-24-2019 03:36 AM #31 micoangelo (Member)

Yeah, so I just edited the last post. I didn't see your post here on page 2!

It actually just broke a modest 7% profit thanks to a late conversion that came in.

I'm not going to touch anything yet. But, moving forward I'm planning to raise the bids and 3X the budget in 2 days... Is it just as simple as taking my EPC * 0.7? Should I use my tracker's or affiliate network's EPC estimate?

Good to know what to expect (i.e. ups and downs with lead gen). I will try to stay self-disciplined.

Is it worth lowering bids on things that are not performing or do you just nix them entirely?

Very exciting... a lot of thanks to you and @thedudeabides for all the help and positivity along the way.


07-24-2019 04:00 AM #32 jacekplacek (Member)

Congrats on the good start!

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post

I'm not going to touch anything yet. But, moving forward I'm planning to raise the bids and 3X the budget in 2 days... Is it just as simple as taking my EPC * 0.7? Should I use my tracker's or affiliate network's EPC estimate?
When optimizing cpc bids I found it good to change it +or- 20% at a time...this helps the native network to keep giving you a steady flow of traffic. So far I havn't had success with theoptimizer's rule-based cpc algorithm.

If you are determining your traffic source cpc, I would look at your traffic-source-epc. So this would just be your earnings divided by your traffic source clicks.
This way you are comparing both the revenue and cost from the point of the initial clicks, rather than further down the funnel

Quote Originally Posted by micoangelo View Post
Is it worth lowering bids on things that are not performing or do you just nix them entirely?
.
It's better to lower the bids, especially if it is a higher volume placement.

You can also make placement decisions based on the number of landing page click throughs that you are getting...they tend to correlate well to your final epc/revenue. This way you have much more data to make decisions on rather than sales


07-24-2019 05:52 AM #33 jack_l (Veteran Member)

It also all depends a ton on what traffic source you are using micoangelo-

If you are using Revcontent you can move a widget up and down a dozen times in an hour and you won't really 'screw anything up', in that it's very much an A+B=C system, and if you put it back to normal at the end it will be right back where it was originally... but if its Taboola SmartBid or something on the opposite end, then changing a bid could have a big impact on things.

There's all sorts of different 'rules' you can decide to use or not use, but I don't think there's any one set of rules that's right or wrong. Only way to know for sure is just to run lots of campaigns and get a feel for each traffic source. Each one is kind of like a different vehicle, and 'driving' each takes some getting used to


07-24-2019 09:14 PM #34 micoangelo (Member)

Wobbly! That's all I have to say about day2...

Just kidding I have a bit more to say.

Even with an offer that seems to have legs, you gotta have sea legs.

Check this out

Day2: 0 conversions

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VS

Day1: 6 conversions (ignore the 0 conversions in the pic below I didn't place my taboola pixel until today, day2)

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Notes:
- Taboola didn't even get close to spending my full day budget. Why would that happen?
- Taboola spent on a bunch of different places on day2 compared to day1
- I'm using fixed bid


Could it be due to the fact that, on day1 my campaigns didn't get approved till the day was halfway over... so the algorithm sent my ads to different placements due to the different time of day? Is the morning just flooded with competition or what...

Should I whitelist the sites that worked on day1 and put them in a separate campaign? My top placement from day1 only got $1.38 in spend on day2... while it profitably spent $39.33 on day1... Weird.

Send me your "thoughts, prayers, and clicks"


07-25-2019 09:45 PM #35 micoangelo (Member)

So day 3 of the three day test also got 0 conversions.

Day 1: 6
Day 2: 0
Day 3: 0


CR is 13.33%. The LP CTR is 13 - 14%.

What's the call here?

I think I'm going to cut the placements that didn't work... Then, I'm gonna cut any ads that didn't have above a .1% CTR.

Will keep testing this for another 3 days

The next round, the budget will be bigger and I'll start by focusing on the placements that got conversions.


07-25-2019 10:46 PM #36 jack_l (Veteran Member)

Taboola is like that man... especially on Smart Bid but even on Fixed Bid, I've had lots of campaigns that did great day one and then went downhill in the short term... I think it might have to do with them using the 'best impressions' at the beginning with which to test your ads. They need to quickly determine your ad ctr so they can figure out their cpm's, so they send 'good impressions' on big sites at first to help gauge that (if I understand right).

You can keep uploading more and more ads to keep (hypothetically) get the best impressions served to you. At least that's what lots of folks do (including me, to a decent extent).

The good news is your offer does convert! At least based on day one's data

You can keep going at the current bid and budget and gather more data, or you can try to target those converting pubs if you want, many choices You can also just increase the coefficient on those individual ones too so they are more likely to get clicks than the other sites that will be at the lower bid.

Remember Taboola has thousands upon thousands upon thousands of individual pubs, so you are definitely right two different days with different pubs getting clicks can be massively different.

Again though I can claim no expertise with running profitable Taboola campaigns so take the above with a grain of salt!

Best of luck to you though and keep hustling man!


07-27-2019 12:05 AM #37 thedudeabides (Moderator)

Glad to see you found a better offer it looks like. Just got to keep testing, and don't get so attached to daily swings in the beginning,

You have to remember that there are literally thousands on sites on Taboola, and at such a low daily cap it's not likely that you're going to be receiving the same mixup of traffic every single day, more like just small random fragments of traffic.

You should be at least capping out the minimum $50/day spend though.

13% CTR is a bit low though if thats for desktop? 20% range for desktop has been my experience for leadgen. What's your effective cost per click to the offer, what was the EPC looking like from the first day for example?


08-02-2019 12:56 AM #38 micoangelo (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by thedudeabides View Post
Glad to see you found a better offer it looks like. Just got to keep testing, and don't get so attached to daily swings in the beginning,

You have to remember that there are literally thousands on sites on Taboola, and at such a low daily cap it's not likely that you're going to be receiving the same mixup of traffic every single day, more like just small random fragments of traffic.

You should be at least capping out the minimum $50/day spend though.

13% CTR is a bit low though if thats for desktop? 20% range for desktop has been my experience for leadgen. What's your effective cost per click to the offer, what was the EPC looking like from the first day for example?
Sorry for the delay... Have been doing a lot of "business development" aka trying to get better offers.

Since the last time I posted:
My A.M. asked me to pause traffic and to switch to another similar lead gen offer because natives were not working out network wide for that one. However, facebook was doing fine. Go figure.

Anyway, I've been stuck in approval purgatory/hell since then... Does approval always take a really long time for WH lead gen offers? Does it mean something bad if it takes a long time? My A.M. has been saying that they are just moving slowly. I'm talking approval times of weeks or more for some offers...

The EPC from the first day, which was the only profitable day, was EPC=$0.74

Here are the full tracker stats from that day...

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Here are the taboola stats for Day1.
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My taboola pixel wasn't installed on day1. I don't know, maybe that derailed everything.


08-05-2019 03:41 AM #39 jacekplacek (Member)

Is the offer approval taking a while or creative approval?

I once talked to one of my AM's at a show and she was asking how are things going. I told her the truth, that I'm mostly working with other networks because creative approvals take too long. She suggested that I first run some traffic, see if the offer converts well, and then wait for the approvals to open up the volume


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