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POP: What CTR is a no-go from the get-go? (8)


05-22-2018 10:25 AM #1 silvertongue (Member)
POP: What CTR is a no-go from the get-go?

Hi,

Haven't found any posts on the forum discussing rules for CTR-based source optimization on a pop campaign. Much talk has been done about the CTR of ads, but not pre-landers. Therefore, I'd appreciate your clarification on these:




Thanks.

ST


05-22-2018 11:57 AM #2 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

I answered part of your question in the other thread that you asked about LP CTR, so not gonna repeat myself here.

Basically, LP has to increase the CVR but it has to allow ENOUGH traffic through, in order to make profit possible.

So, when cutting LPs based on CTR, do that ONLY in case the cost of the actual LP click is to high to even theoretically allow profitability. So if I know it's not possible to convert at 1:2 for example and the offer pays $1, I don't need to mess with LPs that produce LP clicks more expensive than 50 cents. Other than that, ignore LP CTR and focus on the ROI.

NOTE: it's very tricky to do this properly ... each placement can work differently with certain LP, even a small change to the LP can make a big change in CTR. Consider this when cutting based on CTR.

How do you explain sources that are getting a CTR above 100% and what to do about it? (eg. 2000 impressions, 3000 clicks, 1 conversion)
2 options here :

- BOTs that are "clicking" in loops
- scripts on the LPs that are auto-redirecting users ... can be timed redirect, backbutton redirect, link in a popunder ...


05-22-2018 01:15 PM #3 Mr Payne (Member)

From my experience optimizing by CTR is a viable option and I have mostly used it in high volume geo's.

I start with a low threshold to cut and then repeat as needed.

Example:
Cut all placements that have less than 1% CTR and over 100 visits and 0 conversions > see the results > decide next step.
Cut all placements that have less than 2% CTR and over 100 visits and 0 conversions > see the results > decide next step.
etc.

This of course will vary depending on the offer type and campaign setup but I like to keep it simple and quick vs. computing for each placement individually.


Andrew


05-22-2018 02:50 PM #4 erikgyepes (Moderator)

If you are looking for some "rules of thumb" I recommend this great thread started by our beloved @caurmen:

https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...f-thumbampquot

There are some great rules examples you can apply to your campaigns.


05-22-2018 02:55 PM #5 mrbraun (Moderator)

Hello!

As for normal and average CTR - I don't use this, because it really depends on:
- Source
- GEO
- Zone
- Current LP

As for blacklist I use this method:

I check my average CTR from this campaign and blacklist all zones which have:
- CTR = Average * 3 times
- CTR = Average / 3 times.

So if you have average CTR 20%, I will blacklist all zones which have less then 20/3 = 6% and higher then 20*3 = 60%


05-22-2018 03:36 PM #6 silvertongue (Member)

Golden guys, thank you for all pitching in!

Based on your rule @Mr Payne, I have over 300 placements that should be out... Time to get cleaning!


05-23-2018 05:11 AM #7 Mr Payne (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by silvertongue View Post
Golden guys, thank you for all pitching in!

Based on your rule @Mr Payne, I have over 300 placements that should be out... Time to get cleaning!

Keep in mine the 100 visit metric will need to vary dependign on the offer type / geo / source you are working with. Document everything that you do so you can revert and retest different parameters until you learn how to manage it well for yourself.


Andrew


05-23-2018 07:28 AM #8 twinaxe (Senior Moderator)

I also have my own rules for CTR but I won't talk here about it because it won't help you.
They are no fixed rules for all campaigns but rather rules that I built from my experience.
They depend on factors like Geo, trafficsource, traffic type, landing page type, offer vertical.
So when I start a campaign I check several different variables and then based on my past experience I have a rule for it.
But as a real general rule you could take traffic cost, offer payout and a realistic conversion rate and you can see yourself what CTR is a no-go for this campaign.


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