Home > Paid Traffic Sources > Facebook & Instagram

Someone has an extremely good Cloaker setup (13)


02-28-2018 02:26 PM #1 mihalis09 (Member)
Someone has an extremely good Cloaker setup

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 17.21.02.png 
Views:	307 
Size:	294.6 KB 
ID:	18280

This RHad has never left my screen on any refresh over the last week or so. So the real question is which one of you is crushing it?


02-28-2018 02:36 PM #2 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Why would it have to be cloaked? Might be dating.com doing it themselves as a whitelisted dating advertiser. I've seen the ad multiple times too, at that volume it was surely manually reviewed many times so FB is very well aware of it. You can't insert incompliant ads into FB with cloaking, it's about what happens after the click ... or did you see something against the rules on the page the link leads to? Or is that some Celeb on the image and I'm missing something here?


02-28-2018 02:46 PM #3 AdGenius_Jason (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by mihalis09 View Post
Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-28 at 17.21.02.png 
Views:	307 
Size:	294.6 KB 
ID:	18280

This RHad has never left my screen on any refresh over the last week or so. So the real question is which one of you is crushing it?
I like this one - which was running to a skin care anti wrinkle product

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	righthand.JPG 
Views:	227 
Size:	28.2 KB 
ID:	18281
lucky FB only uses face recognition for verifying accounts and not for adverts lol


02-28-2018 02:57 PM #4 mihalis09 (Member)

@Matej it is def not whitelisted. 2 clues about that. The ad has a red MyWot rating and is live and also the landing page url dynamic parameter after "?" has an aff=534643646 field


02-28-2018 08:45 PM #5 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by mihalis09 View Post
@Matej it is def not whitelisted. 2 clues about that. The ad has a red MyWot rating and is live and also the landing page url dynamic parameter after "?" has an aff=534643646 field
Hm, looks weird then indeed, but still ... to my understanding, cloaking won't help you to place disapproved ads into the FB ads ecosystem, that's not possible. Wondering how this went through... is the ad leading to dating.com actually or not?


02-28-2018 09:33 PM #6 mihalis09 (Member)

It is impressive indeed how they have managed to pull this through for so long consistently and judging by my seeing it all the time I suspect in high daily budgets across multiple accounts. Actually those are kinda WH images so with a warmed up account that probably running another or two WHish camps you can get such a camp approved easily since not much skin shows. I do believe tho their cloaking setup should be pretty good thus approved and running for so long with a comprehensive custom blacklist of IPs.

It does actually take you to dating.com which do not seem to have a platform for affiliates, maybe they have a private deal advertising directly with them with no network involved.


03-01-2018 04:29 AM #7 nickpeplow (AMC Alumnus)

The dating.com ad will almost certainly be whitelisted, internally and with a few external media buyers. Typically in house stuff will use the same affiliate tracking system for reporting, so not a surprise to see a aff=53 token. A typical blackhat affiliate would likely have chosen a much more agressive offer (think bbwdesire.com) and dirty image.

Dating is still allowed, but just needs approval.


03-01-2018 03:42 PM #8 mihalis09 (Member)

^ So Facebook lets dating.com running with formal approval while they still are rated Red under mywot? Something just ain't right here


03-01-2018 05:08 PM #9 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by mihalis09 View Post
^ So Facebook lets dating.com running with formal approval while they still are rated Red under mywot? Something just ain't right here
I guess the myWOT rating is just a factor that they CAN take into consideration, it's not a rule carved in stone. Maybe there was a reason for the poor rating in the past and they were able to prove an improvement to FB reps?


03-01-2018 05:24 PM #10 mihalis09 (Member)

The thing is when you enter a link in the power editor that is flagged as red, before you even upload, just by inserting it in the power editor you get a warning about this domain from facebook and if you try to upload it produces error aka not letting you upload an ad with such a link in the first place.

disclaimer tho I have not tested this lately if that is still the case


03-01-2018 07:41 PM #11 bobliu (Member)

Yeah dating.com have been running on Facebook since 2016. They spend well into the millions and have very tasteful ads.

Fun fact: The dating.com domain sold for 1.75m USD in 2010 https://techcrunch.com/2010/05/13/go...sales-heat-up/ have a feeling it sold again to the current owners because in 2011 it was a content site targeted towards the escort niche https://web.archive.org/web/20111117...ation/by-state


03-01-2018 08:54 PM #12 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by mihalis09 View Post
The thing is when you enter a link in the power editor that is flagged as red, before you even upload, just by inserting it in the power editor you get a warning about this domain from facebook and if you try to upload it produces error aka not letting you upload an ad with such a link in the first place.
Hear ya, guess the whitelisted advertisers are exempt from this check then.


03-02-2018 12:41 PM #13 stickupkid (Senior Moderator)

#afid=230260217&utm_medium=cpm&utm_source=facebook &utm_campaign=fb,roih_dcom_net_world_rmreg_ban_all d_mal

https://www.offervault.com/dating.co...der=asc&page=3
Lots of networks have/had dating.com in their portfolio.


Home > Paid Traffic Sources > Facebook & Instagram