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Newbie running Sweeps with Landers for the first time...help appreciated! (10)


10-06-2017 04:51 AM #1 daydreamer (Member)
Newbie running Sweeps with Landers for the first time...help appreciated!

I finally launched two Sweep Campaigns with landers for the first time (much thanks to Vortex for helping me with Landers!) but I wasn't able to even get one conversion is this pretty common for a first timer? I am coming across many questions in my mind on what to do next.

-Should I run the campaign for another day to see if I get any bites?
-Exclude certain zones for the next run?
-Use a different Pop Source?
-Dump current offer and find a similar offer?
-Is something wrong with my lander?
-Find more landers and test those?

Here are the details of the Sweep Campaigns that I just ran:

Offer 1:
- iPhone 7 Sweep
- Propeller Ads (Total budget at $10 with bid at $2.33)
- Payout at $1.12
- GEO = Singapore
- Lander #1 from Adplexity (left language in English as majority of Singaporeans understand English)

Offer 2:
- iPhone X Sweep
- Propeller Ads (Total budget at $10 with bid at $2.33)
- Payout at $1.12
- GEO = Singapore
- Exact same Lander as first offer but edited for iPhone X

Voluum Details below. Are the Clicks the number of times someone clicks on the link in my lander that redirects them to the offer page? If so, it seems like a high number of people that were interested but didn't convert.

Attachment 17150

I appreciate any advice you guys can give me!


10-06-2017 08:27 AM #2 ervin (Senior Member)

I wanted to start by saying that on traffic sources with high volume like Propeller, $10 can get burned out very fast and not be very significant on stats you gather (you may not have any conversions as in your case).

But looking at your Voluum data I see a good Landing Page CTR (8% is pretty good for this kind of traffic) so it means that ppl are clicking on your landers.

Now it is just a matter of is the offer good enough or not?

Have you checked on your offer network if you have any conversion there and maybe it is just the postback not working correctly?

If no conversions at all, I would cut some publishers having visits> 1000, and add it another $10.

If no conversions yet after this, I would move to testing another offer, or another geo (Note: keep your landers as they look good).

Also make sure you have the right targeting for this offer, check if it accepts wifi or only 3g and also if it accepts only specific operators.

Last thing, talk to your account manager, he might be able to give you some more insights on the traffic you sent so far.


10-06-2017 03:59 PM #3 rolandb ()

Can you share your campaign costs?

Some basic initial decision making should be based on cost relative to payout. Vortex's guide shows how to update costs in Voluum. Just FYI, that guide recommends using 5x payout as a limit before cutting if you have 0 conversions, but it's for direct-linking, so you can use a higher limit.

But yes, not getting a conversion at the beginning is common, hence these threads:
https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...Checklist-Here
https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...-Read-This-Now!

Great to see you getting your first campaign up and running though!


10-06-2017 04:39 PM #4 TeamAragon (Senior Member)

Quote Originally Posted by ervin View Post
wifi or only 3g and also if it accepts only specific operators.
@DayDreamer Do you have a % breakdown of browser devices the ads were served to? Messaging and conversion metrics might be different for Android users that see the page (those looking to switch to an iPhone) vs. users that already have an iPhone (particularly last year's version); if there's a way to target OLDER iOS, maybe that could be more enticing? Definitely look into segmenting traffic by device if possible to get more granular data.

- Brian
Dir. of Network Distribution


10-10-2017 03:56 AM #5 daydreamer (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by ervin View Post
I wanted to start by saying that on traffic sources with high volume like Propeller, $10 can get burned out very fast and not be very significant on stats you gather (you may not have any conversions as in your case).

But looking at your Voluum data I see a good Landing Page CTR (8% is pretty good for this kind of traffic) so it means that ppl are clicking on your landers.

Now it is just a matter of is the offer good enough or not?

Have you checked on your offer network if you have any conversion there and maybe it is just the postback not working correctly?

If no conversions at all, I would cut some publishers having visits> 1000, and add it another $10.

If no conversions yet after this, I would move to testing another offer, or another geo (Note: keep your landers as they look good).

Also make sure you have the right targeting for this offer, check if it accepts wifi or only 3g and also if it accepts only specific operators.

Last thing, talk to your account manager, he might be able to give you some more insights on the traffic you sent so far.
Hi Ervin,

I checked the offer network and there weren't any conversions there as well. What do you mean by cutting some publishers?

I will try and give another GEO a shot. Thanks for the tips!


10-10-2017 03:59 AM #6 daydreamer (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by rolandb View Post
Can you share your campaign costs?

Some basic initial decision making should be based on cost relative to payout. Vortex's guide shows how to update costs in Voluum. Just FYI, that guide recommends using 5x payout as a limit before cutting if you have 0 conversions, but it's for direct-linking, so you can use a higher limit.

But yes, not getting a conversion at the beginning is common, hence these threads:
https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...Checklist-Here
https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...-Read-This-Now!

Great to see you getting your first campaign up and running though!
Thanks, i will update the campaign cost with Vortex's guide.

With the 5x rule, since this payout is $1.12, does that mean I should stop when the cost hits $5.60? That doesn't seem like much when the bid is $2.33 CPM right? Thanks for the help!


10-10-2017 04:01 AM #7 daydreamer (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by TeamAragon View Post
@DayDreamer Do you have a % breakdown of browser devices the ads were served to? Messaging and conversion metrics might be different for Android users that see the page (those looking to switch to an iPhone) vs. users that already have an iPhone (particularly last year's version); if there's a way to target OLDER iOS, maybe that could be more enticing? Definitely look into segmenting traffic by device if possible to get more granular data.

- Brian
Dir. of Network Distribution
Hi Brian, thanks for the advice! I notice I can run a report thru Voluum that can break down the details. I will use this to narrow my search.


10-10-2017 07:26 AM #8 rolandb ()

Quote Originally Posted by daydreamer View Post
Thanks, i will update the campaign cost with Vortex's guide.

With the 5x rule, since this payout is $1.12, does that mean I should stop when the cost hits $5.60? That doesn't seem like much when the bid is $2.33 CPM right? Thanks for the help!
The 5x rule is more for direct-linking. You're using a lander (just one right? if so, I'd throw in say 2 more), so with an extra variable, you can try say 8x payout (so 8x 1.12 = $8.96). It's enough to determine whether it's worth continuing with, which is what's important. Most offers won't be profitable, so it's important to have a system to rule out bad ones asap.


10-10-2017 02:10 PM #9 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Just a few more tips from me

You need to make sure that :

1. You are buying real traffic and not bots : https://stmforum.com/forum/showthrea...Live-Campaigns
2. You have good offers - this can only be done by testing many offers from various networks
3. You have good LPs - again a thing of testing, grab more LPs and test them

You asked about what Ervin meant by cutting "some publishers" : pubs or placements are people/sites/zones that you are buying traffic from. Not all of them will work well, so you need to cut those that don't. Are you tracking this info correctly in Voluum? You need to be able to see exactly where your conversions are coming from and focus on those placements. Do you understand how tracking works? This is absolutely crucial!

The 5x offer payout rule is more like a ballpark figure to give you something to start with, you don't have to follow it 100%. The idea is to give the offer enough traffic to show if it's converting at all or it's a dead one. Basically, if you are buying decent quality traffic and not just BOTs and you're LPs are decent too ... you should see at least 1 conversion after spending 5x payout on traffic, unless the offer just plain sucks.


10-11-2017 06:39 PM #10 vortex (Senior Moderator)

Good start! But first of all I would recommend not just running a single random offer with a single random lander.

I'm actively writing more lessons to cover landers - in the meantime, try this:


-Rip and fix up 5 landers - but manually test them and click through them to make sure they all function properly, check them in browserstack to make sure the important parts are all above the fold, and of course optimize them for loading times (preferably under 1s, and no longer than 2s under any circumstances).

-Compile a list of offers for your geo and vertical. These can be offers that are recommended by your AM, offers you found from Adplexity that look promising (with an uptrend), or just random offers.

-Choose 5 offers - most of them should be AM-recommended offers and offers from Adplexity that look promising (these have a higher chance of at least converting, than just random offers).

-Create a camp to run the 5 landers and the 5 offers together.

-If an offer doesn't convert at least once per 10x payout, cut the offer.

-Run until any offer reaches 2 conversions, pause the rest, and continue running that offer to cut landers down to a winner.

-If none of the 5 offers reaches 2 conversions before it's cut, can test another batch of 5 offers, or just test another geo altogether.

-Once down to last, "winning" lander, mass-test the rest of your offers (either together or in batches).


I feel that you need to focus efforts on finding a decent offer+lander first, before even looking at cutting stuff. Otherwise, you will have lost before you've begun.

Good decision on starting this follow-along - looking forward to your next update!




Amy


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