Home > Technical & Creative Skills > Programming, Servers & Scripts

Ripping first landing page and confused about the code (8)


07-05-2017 03:58 AM #1 erikgyepes (Moderator)

Hey Tien,

Sometimes it gets really confusing when editing landing pages, affiliates are getting better and better protecting their stuff.

In the code it looks like he is dynamically creating a script tag and calling the URL you marked. It would be interesting to look into it and see whats going on there.

Anyway, the general progress when you encounter something unknown is to try to comment it out and see if it breaks the landing page.

If no, then just remove it.

In this case its clear that he is loading and external script from his own domain - it might be something functional (in that case you can download and move it to your own domain). Never link to the original domain (even if its clean at the moment) as in the future he could replace its content.


07-05-2017 04:50 AM #2 deetei (Member)

Hi Erik,

I just realised that when I downloaded the landing page from Adplexity and unzipped them, I have 2 almost similar HTML files. One is the file I am editing and another which has the same stuffs (I suppose so).

What does this really mean I doubt ? Or when I click download in Aplexity, it automatically downloads all the landing pages in the chains ?


07-05-2017 06:50 AM #3 erikgyepes (Moderator)

Adplexity try to download all of the external files that are linked in the landing page.

This means all external JS, CSS and image files should be in your folder.

Sometimes if there is another HTML file it might be coming from an iframe that was linked in the original index file. Not sure what is it in your case as you are saying it got the same stuff.


07-05-2017 10:39 AM #4 deetei (Member)

It seems like when deleting the code I mention, the page still works well.

However, when I add the lander to Voluum so that I can have the campaign URL and test the whole thing.

I use an offer from Advidi, however, during the redirect chain, I spot a URL that have "Big Bang Ads" in them.

Does it really mean that the traffic will be redirected to the creator's offer not mine.

I do not even see the redirection URL in the code.

How can it be possible I wonder.

Coding has some magic !


07-05-2017 12:18 PM #5 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by deetei View Post
It seems like when deleting the code I mention, the page still works well.

However, when I add the lander to Voluum so that I can have the campaign URL and test the whole thing.

I use an offer from Advidi, however, during the redirect chain, I spot a URL that have "Big Bang Ads" in them.

Does it really mean that the traffic will be redirected to the creator's offer not mine.

I do not even see the redirection URL in the code.

How can it be possible I wonder.

Coding has some magic !
You could be looking at some GEO based redirect, could be a brokered offer that they have in rotation for the fallback redirects, more on this topic here : http://www.matuloo.com/damn-fallback...es-fight-them/


07-05-2017 01:59 PM #6 deetei (Member)

Thanks matuloo,

I've digested your blog post and it is so much useful for newbie like me.

However, in this case, it seems that the affiliate network does not add the fallback. The reason is because I use offer from Advidi but the link I caught during the redirect chain has Big Band Ads on it.

2 different networks. I am doubful that the landing page creator has added some code in it so that any rip his landing pages will result in the loss of traffic to his own offer.

Though I've not detected the mentioned link appearing in the redirect chain on the code of the page. That is why I say how can it be possible


07-07-2017 01:28 PM #7 matuloo (Legendary Moderator)

Quote Originally Posted by deetei View Post
However, in this case, it seems that the affiliate network does not add the fallback. The reason is because I use offer from Advidi but the link I caught during the redirect chain has Big Band Ads on it.
It could still be a fallback. Affiliate networks often promote offers from other affiliate networks - this is called re-brokered offers. It's nothing unusual, there is a ton of GEOs and verticals, so in some cases it's easier doe them to use a rebrokered offer instead of looking for direct deals.

The best idea would be to ask advidi about it directly, they should be able to give you an answer.


07-08-2017 02:39 AM #8 deetei (Member)

Hi Mat

You're probably right about the fall back. I replace the old offer from Adividi and test an offer of ClickDealer and the CTA button directs me to the exact offer of ClickDealer.

I asked my AM in Advidi about this a few days ago but at that time I may not really understand the fallback so I need to ask him again.

And when I sent a final link of the offer to my AM in Big Bang Ads, she reply me to this: This is not a BBA link. But it also belongs to us.

Though it may not cause any trouble for me at the moment, but like you said in your blog post, it can be a big concern in the future when working with the traffic source staff.

So I better keep it in my mind


Home > Technical & Creative Skills > Programming, Servers & Scripts