So you've got your campaign set up, and the data is starting to flow in.
Maybe money's coming in too, maybe it's not - but believe it or not, it's the data that is the important bit.
With the data, you can start optimising toward reliable success: but before that, you need to understand how to read the data. And that means a bit of math.
This is one of the key skills of an affiliate marketer.
So brace yourself. It's time for the science bit.
Using Science To Make Profit
Affiliate marketing is a mixture of art and science.
The art is coming up with ads and campaigns that will appeal to an audience.
The science is looking at the results from your campaigns, and figuring out how to optimise them to success.
So, if you ever wondered at school what you'd use maths for: you're about to learn how to turn maths into money.
How To Tell If You're Losing Money
Here's the first bit of math you'll need:
EPC > CPC = PROFIT
EPC is "Earning Per Click". CPC is "Cost Per Click". If your EPC is higher than your CPC, you are making money. That applies whether you're getting one click a day or one million clicks a day.
And one of the great secrets of affiliate marketing is this: a campaign that works at one click a day will often work just as well at a million clicks a day - but you'll make a million times more money. That's how super-affiliates make five figures a day.
Whether the campaign's big or small, all you need to do is make your EPC higher than your CPC.
How To Make EPC Big
So what "levers" can you pull to change our EPC and CPC?
EPC = Conversion Rate x Landing Page Clickthrough Rate x Payout Of Offer
For each click you get, they have to click through to our offer, then actually sign up to our offer. Then you get paid.
So, for example, if you have a landing page Clickthrough Rate of 20% and a conversion rate of 10%, and a payout of $5, you have an EPC of $5 x 0.1 (10%) x 0.2 (20%) = $0.1
How could you improve this?
Don't you mean CPC = Cost Per Thousand Banner Views (CPM) * Average Banner Clickthrough Rate (CTR) x 1000?
$1.00*.001*1000=$1.00
not:
$1.00/.001*1000=$1000
thanks!
Nevermind. I see where you put the parenthesis:
$1.00/(.001*1000)=$1.00
Maybe: CPC = Cost Per Thousand Banner Views (CPM) / (Average Banner Clickthrough Rate (CTR) x 1000)
Hey caurmen,
How come I've seen two different EPC formulas in the forums?
I've seen:
EPC = Payout x CVR / 100
and
EPC = Payout x Landing Page CTR x CVR
Which one is the correct one?
@dtalexone - Good question! Answer: they're both correct. The first assumes CVR from ad to offer (so a direct-link campaign) and the second one assumes a CVR from lander to offer (so a landing page campaign).
I'm confused . You say using science and math to make money . Do you make money from the clicks cause I only have seen making money from sales ? CPC means how much you pay for clicks right ? I'm confused by the math part . Can you explain it simpler.
The simplest "math to make money" explanation is this:
If your conversion rate means that you make more money per click (EPC) than you're spending on your clicks (CPC) you're making money.
If not, you're not.
Hope that helps! Let me know if not.