Hi,
I do board targeting in Facebook. For example. Male 20-65+ years old in United States without any interest targeted.
My OCPM is always like USD$20+ sometimes even hit $60.
Then I try to set my CPM to 7 bid for impression.
I am still getting 20-30CPM....LOL
it has been 4 days like this!
HELP HELP HELP.
all positive campaign turn to negative with that crazy CPM charge....
My CTR = 7.5%
my Relevant Score = 9/10
Although you seem to have a decent CTR with that kind of super-broad targetting, I'd suggest you to narrow down your targetting because in my opinion there must be loads of people doing that kind of targetting in Facebook and that may cause the super-expensive oCPMs.
its a bidding system, the more people bid, the higher the price so its not a static thing. If you want to lower your effective cost (ecpm) you should target more specific demographics/interests, and run at times when people are not bidding that much (eg night time). IMO its also not important the price you are paying, but the revenues and ROI you are making. You can pay 1 cpm and make nothing or pay 5 and make x,xxx a day. Its at the end of the day all about the bottom line; not about the cost
Don't worry about your cpm when bidding oCPM. Just pay attention to your CPA. I have ads with $30 cpms on mobile getting me 50 cent leads and ads with $10 cpms getting $2 leads. Just let the algorithm do it's thing and test a shit ton of ads till you find something that works.
I think it is sth wrong with Facebook. My cpm back to 2.5 when I duplicate another ads
you need to set a budget limit and there is also a flag you will need to mark that you do not want to allow the OCPM price to get up
because there is a bidding the system bumps your initial price in order to send you some traffic (Imp) so by doing these 2 actions you will be able to limit your OCPM
just take in mind that this can result with 0 Impressions if other are bidding higher than you.
You can set a lower "objective" CPA but that's about it in terms of control over the oCPM algorithm.
It's goal is to maximised EPM for Facebook, which leaves you to simply outperform others in a very competitive marketplace.
I've been using oCPM quite a bit in the last 6 months. The initial month or so was ridiculously good.
Once things started cooling off I started to play around with my bids quite a bit trying to find that sweet spot. Eventually, at the urging of our facebook rep, I tested out much higher bids. At the end of the day I've learned that my bid doesn't mean very much at all in terms of what I wind up paying. Bidding low only serves to limit my chances of the ad getting seen by the audience that's going to convert because facebook doesn't give it a chance.
I'm now literally bidding $200 per conversion on new adsets and getting leads for $0.40-$1.60 at high volumes. When I was bidding $1.60 (our maximum acceptable CPA) I was struggling to get any traction at all and quite often paid over my bid.
Now, don't get me wrong, a lot of those adsets with $200 bids are failures and need to be killed. However, the ones that work can easily be scaled up to $5k+ in spend with out any real change in lead cost (done over a period of several days unfortunately).
Not once during any of this do I ever even think about what my cpm is. If anything, I've noticed that a really high cpm is a very good sign that I'll wind up getting cheaper leads.
You really just need to let facebook do it's thing with oCPM and focus on testing as many creatives as you can. The cream naturally rises to the top.
Yes, exactly. What you bid doesn't really equate to a 'bid' as we define it. It's a 'goal' which Facebook takes into account amongst some algorithmic magic.
Changing it up or down won't necessarily improve things in any one direction, but lowering it will definitely limit audience exposure over time, and grossly lowering it may shoot your ad groups in the foot by making them dead weight in the eyes of FB.
Hi All,
I am not trying to control the OCPM price. (there is no method to do so.)
There is some BUGs in facebook when you using certain new features, your OCPM will increase to even USD$60.
after I turn it off. it down OCPM decreased to 2-3.
it is not about my board targeting. board targeting always get the lowest OCPM as facebook is trying to get the cheapest reach for u first.
I
You can check these Links -
https://developers.facebook.com/docs...imizedcpm/v2.4
https://developers.facebook.com/docs...ce/ad-campaign
hope this will help.