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How to calculate Statistical Significance? (12)


03-30-2015 12:45 AM #1 Zoltan (Member)
How to calculate Statistical Significance?

Hey there,

I've recently read caurmen's guide (http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...he-Winning-Ads) about statistical significance and killing an ad which was very eye opening for a beginner like me. On the other hand I couldn't figure that out how did he come up with the following: 1200 impressions -> if no clicks kill the ad.

I have been using this site with no luck yet: http://statpages.org/confint.html.


Example question:

I want to get a 0.150% CTR on my ads with a high confidence (95%? Or whatever you guys are suggesting.) that they keep the same CTR. How much impressions would I need? How to calcluate this?


Basically I would like learn a formula, that can be used with all my future campaigns to decide when to kill an ad and how sure I can be that it's the right time to kill it.


A great explanation would be appriciated!


Cheers,
Zoltan


03-30-2015 01:09 AM #2 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by Zoltan View Post
...
On the other hand I couldn't figure that out how did he come up with the following: 1200 impressions -> if no clicks kill the ad.
...
If for example you have this data:
Payout $0.3

To make it easier let's say you pay $1 for those 1200 impressions.

Assuming you can get 1%CTR you will then see 12 clicks out of 1200 impressions.

Out of 12 clicks you have 3 conversions. Which translate to 25%CR

And your revenue will be 3 x $0.3 = $0.9
So your profit is -$0.1

How likely it is you get 25%CR?
Even if let's say you can get 1 conversion, which is around 8%CR you will still be -$0.7

That's why with low payout, using the example above is $0.3, if after you spent $1 you did not see ANY clicks at all, it's safe to assume you should cut this placement early, to avoid further bleeding on your budget.

It's just a bit of common sense when you're still trying to figure out how to increase CTR CR etc. While on a limited budget to test.

Even if you have big budget to test it's just dumb to keep running until you spent $10 with no clicks at all.

Moreover there could be 100 placements like that. So multiply those by 100 now. $100 no clicks? Still hoping even after $1000 no clicks?

Hopefully that makes sense.

Along the way, you keep refining your rules to suit your style.
Example: Risk taker? You might be able to stomach until 10x payout before you cut. Because you're experienced enough to keep tweaking the CTR and your gut tells you this might work.

To each his/her own. Based on his/her data.


03-30-2015 07:39 AM #3 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by Zoltan View Post
...
Basically I would like learn a formula, that can be used with all my future campaigns to decide when to kill an ad and how sure I can be that it's the right time to kill it.
...
If you want a baseline, follow what Caurmen suggested, in the link that you posted (http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...he-Winning-Ads) note the Finally step

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
Now, follow these steps:

First: Look for any banners with more than 1,200 views and no clicks. Pause them. These banners are statistically unlikely to get to a good CTR.

Second: Look for any banners with more than 5,000 views. Check if they have reached your target CTR - for this first campaign, 0.1%. If not, pause them.

It's quite likely that you'll end up with no or very few banners left. That's OK.

Third: add in new banners - creating new ones if necessary, just as we did in "Your First Campaign" - until you have 10 banners being tested again.

If you have banners that have hit 5,000 views and are getting good CTR, create variations of those banners to fill some of your banner slots. Try adding a brightly-coloured border to them, for example. The aim here is to see if you can improve on their CTR still further.

Finally: we need to check you're not getting too much data. Data that goes past statistical significance is not useful - you don't want losing ads around for any longer than it takes to be certain they are losers.

If any of your banners have gotten to 8,000 views or more before you checked them, you should either check more frequently or lower your campaign budget, whichever is easier.

Done all that? Let the campaign run once again.
Don't care or don't want to know the formula? (not wise though)
Grab the spreadsheet in: http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...ats-Calculator and plug your numbers.

There's a gem in that thread, some kind user posted another excel for easy calculation, read the whole thread, post-by-post, if still confused, post your questions in that thread.


03-30-2015 10:54 AM #4 Zoltan (Member)

Hi qureyoon ,

Thank you for your answers. Yeah, I have read all of them thorugh. However what I need is to calculate the statistical significance. In Part 10 he explains a formula to calculate the Minimum Viable Conversion Rate. Statistical significance however is not covered deeply. That's what I'm looking for.

Anyone else can help me to explain this?


03-30-2015 11:12 AM #5 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by Zoltan View Post
...However what I need is to calculate the statistical significance. In Part 10 he explains a formula to calculate the Minimum Viable Conversion Rate. Statistical significance however is not covered deeply. ...
This?


03-30-2015 11:23 AM #6 Zoltan (Member)

This is great for someone who is already generating leads. I would need a solution for the Ads impressions exclusively as per my example. I need to understand how to calculate if my Ad has reached a statistically significant limit (based on my desired CTR) so I can cut out the non-performers.


03-30-2015 11:44 AM #7 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by Zoltan View Post
... calculate if my Ad has reached a statistically significant limit (based on my desired CTR) so I can cut out the non-performers.
I think you misunderstood the concept I believe.

You should not cut ads based on CTR only.

Even a lowly ads that gets only 0.03%CTR if it converts. Then it converts.

You need all the figures all together. Do not isolate each other.

Even if you managed to get the ads to your so called desired CTR, let's say 10%, if it doesn't convert it's pointless.

In the end the simplest formula you should look is revenue > cost.


03-30-2015 11:51 AM #8 Zoltan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by qureyoon View Post
I think you misunderstood the concept I believe.

You should not cut ads based on CTR.

Even a lowly ads that gets only 0.03%CTR if it converts. Then it converts.

You need all the figures all together. Do not isolate each other.

In the end the simplest formula you should look is revenue > cost.
Please refer to carumen's post in here: http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...he-Winning-Ads

Look at:
- Why You Should Care About "Statistical Significance"
- How Many Banner Impressions You Need
- Your First Banner Cut

That is what I need. If the revenue on a low CTR banner is high I obviously won't kill it, but the basic question here is when can i be statistically certain to cut an ad. Please look at my question in the OP. I don't need any calculation based on the cost/revenue. I just need a formula which can decide if the number of impressions and clicks I'm getting is statistically significant. That is all!


03-30-2015 12:22 PM #9 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

It's in Part 10 mate.

http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post133177

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
Statistical significance: for more details (and some math which will be useful in this specific case) have a read of

http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...he-Winning-Ads (theory)

and

http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...ats-Calculator (practise)

But then again, good luck on your journey for the knowledge! Keep us updated on what you've learned


03-30-2015 01:14 PM #10 caurmen (Administrator)

One thing that I should clarify here: the 1,200 impressions rule is a rule of thumb based on a number of generalised assumptions. It's offered in Part 7 as a way for people who aren't as math-happy to get going in a user-friendly way.

If you want to be more precise and develop your own hurdles, you can do that using a binomial confidence interval calculator as discussed in Part 10.

However, do be aware that it's a good idea to cut ads that are unlikely to be profitable just based on the cost of their clicks as early as you possibly can. That's the reason for CTR-based hurdles: if our payout is $5, our expected conversion rate after optimisation is sub-20%, and looking at our statistical significance calculation we're going to end up with a CPC of $1.20 at the lowest possible, there's no reason to run the ad until we have statistically significant ROI. And we can save a lot of money by cutting that no-hope ad early.


03-30-2015 01:39 PM #11 Zoltan (Member)

Thank you all for your answers. Then I guess I'll just start playing with the binomial confidence interval calculator to come out with my own hurdles. I will also try to keep an eye on the CPC as well, thanks for tip.

Cheers,
Zoltan


03-31-2015 09:09 PM #12 dimarider (Member)

caurmen: thanks a lot for that info. I myself test banners buying them at CPC model. This is quite cheap, and, in my opinion safe in order not to screw up, and burn a big budget.


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