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Starting on mobile using the Appetiser method (14)


08-31-2014 07:18 AM #1 hendrix (Member)
Starting on mobile using the Appetiser method

Hey guys, I've decided to switch from POF to mobile right away, especially because a) @caurmen wrote the most fantastic guide for newbies and b) I make my living from mobile apps and I feel more comfortable with mobile.

Campaign details:

Offer : Opera Mini Browser Android - CPI – BR
Payout : $0.16
Geo : Brazil
Aff Network: F5 Media
Traffic: Decisive

Before launching the campaign I have a few questions and would appreciate your help:

1) My F5 media affiliate link is "http://f5mtrack.com/?a=229092&c=42824&s1=" and according to the tutorial I need to add "&s2={{{bidhash}}}" to the end of the link. But, I guess I can also name my campaigns (based on the examples), so the end URL would like this: http://f5mtrack.com/?a=229092&c=42824&s1=OperaMini-MobileApp&s2={{{bidhash}}}

Is this correct?

Also, if I want to add a few more tracking macros from Decisive, do I just put them at the end of the link, like for example: http://f5mtrack.com/?a=229092&c=42824&s1=OperaMini-MobileApp&s2={{{bidhash}}}{{{ad_name}}}{{{app}}}

2) Do I upload all the banners (4 in my case) to each new campaign that I'm creating?

3) Should I target all Form Factors? As far as I know Slider and Flip phones (feature phones) don't support 320x50 banners.

4) In my case, what would be the CPA Goal? ($0,16 x 1,5 = $0,24?)

5) The tutorial suggest 8 USD daily limit and a 15 USD spend per campaign. Can just set the budget to 15 USD instead of unlimited? I feel uneasy with the "unlimited" option checked.

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6) Blacklisting: From the tutorial: "If there is an App or a Site which has had more than a third of the total spend on your campaign since that campaign began, has not had a conversion, and has spent more than three times your offer payout, blacklist it by clicking the "blacklist" checkbox in Decisive the the right of that App or Site."

In my case, does it mean that I look for apps and sites which spent 5+ USD (third of the total spend) and/or 0.48+ USD (three times offer payout), had no conversions, and I blacklist them?

Here is a sample of my creative (I'll get the Spanish translations today):
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Thanks, I'm looking forward to this journey.


08-31-2014 08:18 AM #2 iAmAttila (Veteran Member)

Also, if I want to add a few more tracking macros from Decisive, do I just put them at the end of the link, like for example: http://f5mtrack.com/?a=229092&c=42824&s1=OperaMini-MobileApp&s2={{{bidhash}}}{{{ad_name}}}{{{app}}}


pic referenced from http://iamattila.com/Voluum-tutorial...-to-voluum.php


08-31-2014 08:51 AM #3 aady83 (Member)

Hi Hendrix,

I would also recommend setting up STM p202/Voluum tracking as well if you have not already - its good for 2 reasons. GEO/redirect.

a)if the offer you are running is only available in UK for example, you can use the tracking software to redirect visits from non UK countries to the relevant offer.
b) if the offer is for either IOS or android, you can set up the tracking software to link to either of those devices.

its best not to solely rely on network tracking.

thats just my 2 cents, I am a newb as well so feel free to not heed the advice.


08-31-2014 09:38 AM #4 hendrix (Member)

Hi @iAmAttila and @aady83. Thanks for the answers.

@iAmAttila: I've bookmarked that for future reference, because I don't use Voluum yet.

Here is a pic from the Decisive interface - would this kind of link work:
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@aady82: I was planning to start using Voluum as soon as I start making LP's for the offers. For now, I'll be direct linking only, and if I understand Decisive correctly, I can limit the traffic to countries and OS's.


08-31-2014 09:39 AM #5 caurmen (Administrator)

1) Additional tracking: you'll need to assign each of those to their own subid. So, you'll want to add, for example, &s3={{{app}}}. Does that make sense? Other than that, your URL is correct.
2) Yep.
3) Yep. Don't worry, if the phone doesn't support the banner size you'll just not display any banners on them
4) Yep.
5) You can, certainly! You'll end up setting it to "Unlimited" after running out of budget gets annoying, I guarantee, but there's no problem with setting the budget initially for peace of mind.
6) That's a rule of thumb that doesn't work as well if you have a payout as low as the one you're running. I'd blacklist anything that spends more than 4x your payout with no conversion.


08-31-2014 05:24 PM #6 hendrix (Member)

Thanks for the answers, caurmen. I'm now ready to start.


09-01-2014 07:22 AM #7 hendrix (Member)

If I want to include animated banners, should they be made as GIFs? I've just tested Google Web Designer and while it looks really cool and useful it seems that you can export the files in HTML5 only.

Which "animation" tool wold you recommend? Good old Photoshop should do the job?


09-01-2014 07:33 PM #8 caurmen (Administrator)

Yup, GIFs are the way to go for most advertising platforms, sadly.

One day we will be able to use rich media! One day...

Animation tools: don't get me started on which animation tool I would recommend unless you have a lot of time to kill. (I've been directing animated films for ... a while now.)

However, for affiliate marketing purposes Photoshop will do just fine, yep!

(If you know animation, there are better options - but if you don't, the learning curve on most pro animation tools is more of a learning cliff.)


09-02-2014 06:36 AM #9 hendrix (Member)

Thanks, caurmen, I just wanted to make sure I'm not missing out on something. I've made some animated GIF's back in 2000 - glad to know not everything is changing with light speed.


09-06-2014 07:08 AM #10 hendrix (Member)

I've run 4 campaigns, promoting the Opera Mini Browser on Android, and after 123.794 total impressions, I got 5 conversions. But no biggie, I've learned some valuable lessons.

First, to make comparisons later, here are my stats from running "in-house" banner ads in AdMob. I've run them in one of my apps to promote my new app. Both are in the same category on GP and targeted to the same user demo.

Impressions: 21.521
Clicks: 696 (3.2% CTR)
Conversions: 173 (25%) <<--- (Edit: I've mistakenly wrote 3.2%)

Not bad. These are the stats from my Site/WiFi campaign on Decisive:

Impressions: 23.588
Clicks: 351 (1.5% CTR)
Conversions: 1 (0.28% CTR)

The importance of running the ads to the "right" demo seems to make a very, very big difference. So instead of using the shotgun approach, I could use the sniper approach on Decisive, by studying their App and Site traffic sources. The number of those is manageable and it would not be that time consuming.

For example, I've noticed m.webmd.com on the list of Sites. I'm positive there are similar "health" traffic sources included. So it would be reasonable to find a "health" offer and target health sites, plus similar sites, which could also be interesting to the "health" demo.

I'm guessing only here, but it seems reasonable, and there is only one way to find out.


09-06-2014 07:20 AM #11 Mr Green (Administrator)

Those admob stats are amazing. 25% CR. What is the "action" that registers a conversion for your app?


09-06-2014 08:22 AM #12 hendrix (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Green View Post
Those admob stats are amazing. 25% CR. What is the "action" that registers a conversion for your app?
App install is the action that registers the conversion.

EDIT:

Here are the AdMob stats:
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And the final Decisive stats (the CTR was even higher than originally reported):
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09-06-2014 11:20 AM #13 caurmen (Administrator)

Bloody hell, that's ... quite a high CVR. Nice one.

Yes, targeted campaigns on Decisive are a solid approach. Be aware that you'll end up with quite limited volume unless you're targeting very big sites in very big geos, but other than that, no downsides!


09-06-2014 11:51 AM #14 hendrix (Member)

Thanks for the input, @caurmen.


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