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Voluum showing wrong cost data (8)


08-05-2014 04:53 AM #1 vvineyard (Member)
Voluum showing wrong cost data

I have a test campaign running in Voluum. It looks the tracking is working properly, but is reporting a much higher spend in the tracking software than on the traffic network (traffic junky). I'm not sure if this is just a delay from Traffic Junky or if i did something incorrectly. I did change cpc in Voluum to match my bid price in traffic junky. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.


08-05-2014 12:33 PM #2 zeno (Administrator)

Voluum cannot track exact click costs.

Think about it for a second: how does Voluum know your spend at Traffic Junky?

It doesn't.

So, you need to put in an average CPC that is similar to what you are paying on average in TJ.

If the cost data is off in Voluum, just change the CPC to suit.

There's no better way about this right now since Voluum doesn't yet support retrospective pricing changes or cost report uploads.


08-06-2014 12:02 AM #3 vvineyard (Member)

Is it possible to manually change the values within Voluum? I've also noticed that they lost some of my conversion data. It was showing 8 total conversions last night while today it's only showing 5 when there should be 11 total. I've opened a support ticket but haven't heard anything back from them yet. I'm using a ecpc spreadsheet and reports from clickdealer in the mean time.


08-06-2014 02:40 PM #4 zeno (Administrator)

That sounds like you simply have today selected rather than lifetime?

Time zones and all that. I don't think Voluum loses any conversion data - at least I have never heard of this.

As far as I know there is no way to manually change click costs other than updating the average CPC as you go.


08-10-2014 02:42 AM #5 t0mmy (Member)

So Voluum is not able to track click costs in real time? I got it running today with Decisive and it is showing my clicks but revenue and cost are both still zero.


08-13-2014 09:26 AM #6 zeno (Administrator)

Quote Originally Posted by t0mmy View Post
So Voluum is not able to track click costs in real time? I got it running today with Decisive and it is showing my clicks but revenue and cost are both still zero.
This is only feasible if the traffic source will pass click cost data as a dynamic token, or if the tracking platform has direct API access to the traffic source.

The former is simply never going to happen on most sources.

The latter is unlikely to happen for click tracking systems, since they would likely have to code everything for every major traffic source that has an API - and even then it would likely not work well due to click discrepancies and traffic source shenanigans.


02-04-2016 06:28 PM #7 simon_89 (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by zeno View Post
This is only feasible if the traffic source will pass click cost data as a dynamic token, or if the tracking platform has direct API access to the traffic source.

The former is simply never going to happen on most sources.

The latter is unlikely to happen for click tracking systems, since they would likely have to code everything for every major traffic source that has an API - and even then it would likely not work well due to click discrepancies and traffic source shenanigans.
Hi Zeno,

I'm using Propeller Ads at the moment and it's not displaying the costs in Voluum. So based off what you posted, I should use the cost model of CPC under the Voluum Campaign Link right? As of right now I'm using the CPM cost model, and there aren't any costs displayed.

For Example:





Would I take the cost from the traffic source(Propeller) and divide that by the amount of clicks(Voluum). So let's take $2.37 CPM campaign for example, $34.55/7,523=0.0045 <---input that amount in the cost model for Voluum. Let's say even after I enter this value, I would have to track the costs in the amount of clicks plus the cost so that in a couple of days I can keep adjusting the CPC amount.


02-05-2016 11:05 AM #8 zeno (Administrator)

If you use CPM then Voluum is expecting to track impressions and assign some cost to those - so you would need to place Voluum's impression tracking pixel - a practice which you will rarely be able to do on most ad networks.

So, if using pops, each visit will effectively be a "click" to your tracking link and you should thus use the CPC cost mode and set it to whatever your cost-per-impression for the pops is, e.g. $0.0027


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