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Should I Continue Or Stop? Why? (37)


07-04-2014 02:47 AM #1 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Should I Continue Or Stop? Why?

Hi all,

Some disclaimer: I'm a newbie. I've just started in PPV (long story short: I took some courses on PPV before I came to STM)

I've some noob questions. Was trying to figure out if I should continue or stop my campaign.

Was looking at this particular thread: http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...ill-Make-Money

Been running and collecting data for 7 days.

Following are the breakdown:

Code:
6/27/2014	Campaign xyz	428	$10.01 
6/28/2014	Campaign xyz	442	$10.02 
6/29/2014	Campaign xyz	447	$10.01 
6/30/2014	Campaign xyz	911	$20.01 
7/1/2014	Campaign xyz	682	$15.02 
7/2/2014	Campaign xyz	695	$15.01 
7/3/2014	Campaign xyz	694	$15.01
Impressions: 4299
Total Cost: $95.09

The stats in my CPVLab:
Code:
ID	Offer		Visitors	Cost	CPC	Conversions	CR	CPA	Revenue	P/L	ROI
0	Offer xyz	4060		$0.00 	$0.00 	15		0.37%	$0.00 	$21.00 	$21.00 	0.00%
Payout: $1.40
Traffic Source: LI - PPV
Email Submit
Direct Linking (for now, should I try LP?)

Pardon me but I'm a bit slow here :|

How should I do the math? What is the thought process in making the decision to continue or stop?

Would appreciate advise and feedbacks!

Thanks a lot peeps!


07-04-2014 03:12 AM #2 zeno (Administrator)

What exactly are you tracking?

I presume LI lets you pass things like keyword/referrer or that you can use their conversion tracking to look at site performance.

You definitely need to pass something of the sort to CPV Lab to provide a bank of data from which you can make decisions.

For PPV, you want to tweak your own landers based on CPV Lab stats, and cull off low performing keywords/targets/etc at the traffic source end.


07-04-2014 03:27 AM #3 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Thanks zeno.

Yes LI lets me pass the keyword / target.

I've done the dayparting part, since I did not see any conversion in the afternoon - midnight - morning.

So currently setting it from 5AM - 7PM (forget which day I set this, probably I should have run it a bit longer before dayparting it)


Interestingly, 2 words keywords keeps getting the conversion, domain.com keyword did not do anything.

Is it time to cull off those low performing keyword?

Or I just scrap this campaign anyway (if the math is not looking good) --> which I don't know how to correlate all the numbers :|

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07-04-2014 02:08 PM #4 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Which metrics should I use?

OK, so I took some numbers, and hopefully my assumption here is correct.

Code:
CTR    = 100% -> Direct linking (should I use other number?)
CR     = 0.37%
Payout = $1.4
Metrics using CPC
Code:
CPC = Take average CPV = $0.022 (?) -> Can I assume using average of CPV?
EPC = $1.4 x 0.37% / 100
    = $0.005439

Profit = ($0.005439 - $0.022) x $95.09 / $0.022 -> (CPC)
       = $-927.4

ROI = ($0.005439 - $0.022) x 100 / $0.022
    = -75.28%
Metrics using CPM
Code:
CPM = $0.022 x 100% x 10
    = $22
eCPM = 100% (Direct Link) x 0.37% x $1.4 / 10
     = $5.18

Profit = ($5.18 - $22) x $95.09 / $22
       = $-72.7

ROI = ($5.18 - $22) x 100 / $22.
    = -76.46%
Metrics using CPA
Code:
CPA = $0.022 x 100 / 0.37
    = $5.95

Profit = ($1.4 - $5.95) x $95.09 / $5.95
       = -72.72

ROI = ($1.4 - $5.95) x 100 / $5.95
    = -76.47%
But if I use ROI using Cost & Revenue alone:
Code:
ROI = ($21 - $95.08) / $21
    = -78%
Now knowing all those numbers and metrics, which metrics should I use?

And looking at the ROI, things are not good, meaning I should just move on to other offers/campaign?

Thanks again!


07-05-2014 03:56 AM #5 zeno (Administrator)

If in doubt there is one comparison only that you should make:

Cost of traffic for a particular keyword/factor
VS Revenue generated by that particular keyword/factor

How much have you spent on this campaign overall, and how much have you made?

Can you see how much you have spent on individual keywords, and how much they have made?

Things like conversion rate are just percentages, they alone don't tell you where you stand so always follow the money.

Once you get a better handle on what's going on you can look at e.g. the CPV of specific keywords, which is related to your bid, and the EPV of those keywords - i.e. comparing costs and earnings.

This is definitely a situation where a tracking system will help - a place where you can look at the EPV of every keyword, the traffic, conversions, etc. and also use an average CPV to give rough profit/loss and ROI values.


P.S. I'm not sure what you did in the CPC part but your profit was definitely incorrect! You'd get a virtual slap from me if you have spent almost $1000 and made ~$20!!


07-05-2014 06:25 AM #6 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Thanks for the pointer!

Quote Originally Posted by zeno View Post
If in doubt there is one comparison only that you should make:

Cost of traffic for a particular keyword/factor
VS Revenue generated by that particular keyword/factor

How much have you spent on this campaign overall, and how much have you made?

Can you see how much you have spent on individual keywords, and how much they have made?
Ok, so I tried to extract the converting keywords, and here is the results:


I'm using simple calculation using the average CPV, since in CPVLab it does not track what is the CPV / CPC.
So, looking at the table the ROI is as follow:

Code:
-69.46%
-62.79%
-84.01%
274.33%
----------
-68.69%
And still I could not correlate what these numbers means

Currently I'm testing 2 LP now. So might have some good metrics on the CTR and Conversions later. (which hopefully I know how to read the numbers)

Quote Originally Posted by zeno View Post
P.S. I'm not sure what you did in the CPC part but your profit was definitely incorrect! You'd get a virtual slap from me if you have spent almost $1000 and made ~$20!!
I'm assuming CTR 100% since it's direct linking, and using CPV as the CPC. That's why the number is like that.
I don't know from where to get the CPC for PPV :|


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07-05-2014 05:42 PM #7 caurmen (Administrator)

For PPV, CPC = CPV assuming you want to calculate the equivalent of banner ad click cost.


07-05-2014 11:39 PM #8 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Right now you are losing money.

That--by itself--is not a reason to stop.

It is a reason to do things differently, however, as if you just do more of the same, you will lose more money.

Good thing is that you have at least gotten some conversions.


07-06-2014 06:30 AM #9 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
For PPV, CPC = CPV assuming you want to calculate the equivalent of banner ad click cost.
Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by cmdeal View Post
Right now you are losing money.

That--by itself--is not a reason to stop.

It is a reason to do things differently, ....
...
...
Thanks! Currently will try some LPs. Will report back the progress.

Hopefully this can be something to learn for others starting PPV as well.

Have a great weekends peeps!


07-06-2014 08:01 AM #10 Humbleaid ()

How much budget do you have left? I think that is a big consideration.


07-06-2014 08:28 AM #11 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by Humbleaid View Post
How much budget do you have left? I think that is a big consideration.
As of now, spend $105.10, converting $23.80.

Since this is my first experience with PPV, probably I'll give it another $100 for my learning experience (about a week more, to test some LPs).

I'm sure along the way and with all the superb information here at STM, hopefully I can get things moved in much faster pace. E.g: Testing and decide in under $40 (for smaller payout <$10)


07-07-2014 12:50 PM #12 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
OK, I learnt my first expensive lessons :(

OK, so now I get the hang of how to analyze my data in CPVLab.

I declare that I learnt my first expensive lessons :| *ouch*

These are some data from my other campaign:

1. Go to your campaign report, and click Optimize Report


2. Here you can see all your "unique" targets along with the views and coversions data. Extract this to CSV


3. Open up your Excel, and add some parameter (see yellow highlighted)


From here I can see where my money bleeds :| It's very obvious now that I should cut those, since even though it converts, it just doesn't worth it.

Unfortunately I realized this a bit late.

So hopefully this can serve as a lessons for other newbies around here as well.

Always keep learning!


----------
Questions:

My next questions to the seniors here, should I try to get some more data on the top 3 targets/keywords?
Or should I just scrap this campaign all together?



.


07-09-2014 06:32 PM #13 caurmen (Administrator)

Can you upload those images to an external services like imgur? unfortunately they've come in a bit small.

(STILL not sure why the forum does this - having another look at it tomorrow. Apologies.)


07-10-2014 03:19 AM #14 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Update as of Jul 10, Feedbacks?

Hello all,

It's been ~2 weeks I've launch this campaign, and it has been a very good learning experience for me.

This is my latest stats from the first campaign:



I've switched from DL to LP, and currently identified 4 that gave me quite a good CTR and Conversions

Data from CPVLab:


Those highlighted in orange/peach are inactive / paused.

Looking at the LPs stats, would you recommend to collect more data?
How would you judge which LP is best performing?
Is it only based on the CTR and CR?

Appreciate all your feedbacks!


07-10-2014 07:39 AM #15 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by qureyoon View Post
Hello all,

It's been ~2 weeks I've launch this campaign, and it has been a very good learning experience for me.

This is my latest stats from the first campaign:



I've switched from DL to LP, and currently identified 4 that gave me quite a good CTR and Conversions

Data from CPVLab:


Those highlighted in orange/peach are inactive / paused.

Looking at the LPs stats, would you recommend to collect more data?
How would you judge which LP is best performing?
Is it only based on the CTR and CR?

Appreciate all your feedbacks!
You should post real data (real costs + real revenues) for each placement. It is impossible to give any real business advice without knowing how much it cost you to buy something and how much you were able to sell this for.

Your goal is not high CTR or high CVR. Your goal is high profit.


07-10-2014 08:18 AM #16 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by cmdeal View Post
You should post real data (real costs + real revenues) for each placement. It is impossible to give any real business advice without knowing how much it cost you to buy something and how much you were able to sell this for.

Your goal is not high CTR or high CVR. Your goal is high profit.
What should I look for to optimize, and make it high profit?

Updated the table (added the numbers for Cost, CPV and ROI column):

Cost, each views is $0.02 (I take average of CPV).



Is there any other numbers I should look for?


07-10-2014 09:18 AM #17 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by qureyoon View Post
What should I look for to optimize, and make it high profit?

Updated the table (added the numbers for Cost, CPV and ROI column):

Cost, each views is $0.02 (I take average of CPV).



Is there any other numbers I should look for?
First rule of business: Buy low, sell high.


07-10-2014 11:33 AM #18 caurmen (Administrator)

Have you run these numbers through a statistical significance calculator or split-test calculator? There's one in Part 11 of the Getting Started Guide.

Looking over those stats, I strongly suspect you're pausing landers based on too little data.

What's the payout on this offer?


07-10-2014 12:25 PM #19 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
Have you run these numbers through a statistical significance calculator or split-test calculator? There's one in Part 11 of the Getting Started Guide.

Looking over those stats, I strongly suspect you're pausing landers based on too little data.

What's the payout on this offer?


Payout is $1.4

Thanks for the pointer. Below is the results of the A/B test:



Based on the results, I will pause A & B for now.

I will keep this campaign running for my own learning purpose! And report back later.

Appreciate all the feedback and pointers.


07-10-2014 01:38 PM #20 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Pausing A & B will help you lose less money.

But if you want to make money, you need to get your revenue per conversion to be higher than your cost per conversion.


07-10-2014 01:56 PM #21 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by cmdeal View Post
Pausing A & B will help you lose less money.

But if you want to make money, you need to get your revenue per conversion to be higher than your cost per conversion.
Thank you Sir! Looks like I making some correct decisions.
Still long way for me to grasp the whole AM business thing.

I'm taking this as my learning experience. So I'm not expecting any profits yet.

However I hope that I can achieve something from this campaign, but figuring out how to get my revenue higher.


07-10-2014 07:44 PM #22 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by qureyoon View Post
However I hope that I can achieve something from this campaign, but figuring out how to get my revenue higher.
Focus on your CVR. Two ways this can be done is by tweaking your landing page and (much) better targeting your campaign.


07-10-2014 10:31 PM #23 zeno (Administrator)

Woah there! You need a bit more conversion data. Its most certainly a premature jump to say A or B are best with only 1 and 2 conversions...


07-11-2014 04:12 AM #24 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by cmdeal View Post
Focus on your CVR. Two ways this can be done is by tweaking your landing page and (much) better targeting your campaign.
Thanks! Your reply always got me thinking. Which is better I think, since it forces you to think, and not just waiting to be spoon-fed. Appreciate this!
I'm now looking at how to target better, have a couple of ideas to start targeting something. Hopefully I can test this data.



Quote Originally Posted by zeno View Post
Woah there! You need a bit more conversion data. Its most certainly a premature jump to say A or B are best with only 1 and 2 conversions...
Hi zeno, do you know what numbers should I aim?

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
Now, you need to know how and when to choose from our split-test landing pages and offers.

Once you've got this down, you have everything you need to optimise your campaigns into profit!

Choosing Which Landing Page To Run

If your landing pages don't have at least 5 conversions between them, don't start this process - you don't have enough data.

If they do, load up this calculator.
....
....
....
Based on the above (emphasis mine, in red), my understanding is that if between all of them I have at least 5 conversions, I can try the A/B split calculator.

The guideline for 5 is total? Or at least any of them have 5?

Currently I'm pausing, and get the others running until at least they reach the same view. And then calculate again. Will this approach be ok?


07-11-2014 06:49 AM #25 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

There is no need to send equal traffic to each one. Cut losers fast.


07-11-2014 12:12 PM #26 caurmen (Administrator)

@qureyoon - You're using the calculator right, but I'd usually only pause a lander that has a less than 5% chance of winning according to the calculator. Others I'd let run to get more statistical certainty.

BTW, different people have slightly different philosophies on split-testing and the best time to cut, which is why Zeno, cmdeal and myself may advise subtly different paths to take here. All three of our approaches work, but they prioritise different things.


07-11-2014 01:12 PM #27 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Thanks for the advise!

I'm learning, and adapting to my own style. Still need to find the right balance for myself on when to cut losers, and how much data I need to collect.

Keep the advise coming! It's very helpful, and hopefully will help others reading it too!

Awesome environment here!


07-11-2014 01:42 PM #28 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

There are at least two different objectives in split testing:

1. The find the right answer
2. To make the most money with lowest risk


These approaches converge if there is no cost to testing, but when testing comes at a cost, they diverge significantly.

Take the example of designing a car.

You could theoretically test 1000 different shapes for the wheel, 1000 different designs for the engine, 1000 different designs for the gear shift, 1000 different colours, 1000 different shapes for the steering wheel, etc etc. This will give you a testing space of 1000 x 1000 x 1000 x 1000 x 1000 .... or basically 1000 ^ n. Even with 5 different attributes, that is 10e+20, or 1000000000000000 different combinations. If you have all the time in the world, and each test doesn't cost anything (either directly or in terms of opportunity costs) then by all means you should do this. By doing so, yes, you will eventually get the RIGHT answer to the optimal combination of these factors.

But in reality, you would go bankrupt before you ever reached the RIGHT answer.

In business however, it is much better to be rich than right. If you already know that a round wheel works, then testing all sorts of other wheels (square, triangular, elliptical) incurs a VERY heavy cost to you. In statistical terms, this is called a multi-armed bandit test, since the variable you are trying to optimise is expected profit.


07-13-2014 02:37 PM #29 zeno (Administrator)

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
@qureyoon - You're using the calculator right, but I'd usually only pause a lander that has a less than 5% chance of winning according to the calculator. Others I'd let run to get more statistical certainty.

BTW, different people have slightly different philosophies on split-testing and the best time to cut, which is why Zeno, cmdeal and myself may advise subtly different paths to take here. All three of our approaches work, but they prioritise different things.
I have one hard fast rule that I abide by, at least for low payout offers: if adding one conversion to a combination would bring it well out of the 'loser bracket', then I get more data.

E.g. if you take the original split test calc data and add a single conversion to combo A, you now would definitely not cull off A and B since A is now beating D.



So, in this case where there is a minimal number of conversions across the board, I would be congnisant of the fact that the average conversion rate for some combos (A, C, D) could vary quite a bit from the current snapshot.


07-14-2014 01:56 AM #30 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Quote Originally Posted by zeno View Post
I have one hard fast rule that I abide by, at least for low payout offers: if adding one conversion to a combination would bring it well out of the 'loser bracket', then I get more data.
...
...
Thanks for the advise zeno! That is something that perfectly makes sense now. I did not realize it before.
All this learning is getting more stressful and more fun at the same time


07-16-2014 03:36 AM #31 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Updates Jul 16

Hello guys,

Time for some update again

What have been done so far:



So this is the first result of the dynamic LP using the multivariate:


It has 9 different headline text, 7 different image, and 3 different CTA text.

Layout and everything is still the same.

Conversion is only 1, so CR is 0.17%

Overall stats so far (-160% ROI)


Next step would be to remove those non-performing keywords, and the variation of headline, image, cta.

Feedback appreciated!

Thanks all


07-16-2014 10:50 AM #32 caurmen (Administrator)

OK, you're not going to like this answer, I'm afraid, but unless you have a very solid reason for taking this approach to multivariate testing and can explain how you're avoiding interaction problems I'd strongly recommend not going down this road.

Conventional multivariate testing does not mean testing multiple things on the same page and treating them all as independent split tests. That's a parallel split test. Whilst it can work (I've used it) , you need to have a solid understanding of the maths behind multivariate testing and understand the failure modes there. (Mostly, they have to do with the test being invalidated by interactions between your testing elements.)

You don't have nearly enough volume to do full multivariate - you'd literally have to increase the volume you're running by 1,000 to stand a chance of getting statistically significant results. Full factorial multivariate testing involves testing every single combination of every element - which in your case would be 7x9x3 = 189 possible combinations. Even optimising for CTR you'd need a few thousand clicks to get significant results there, and if you were optimising for CVR you'd need a few thousand conversions!

You could do fractional factorial to achieve the results you're looking for, but that either requires a tool which does that (I know of exactly one, although it'll be two soon ) or you to have some seriously advanced math skills.

In addition, you appear to be optimising for CTR. I'd strongly recommend not doing that. CVR is what makes you money, CTR's just a useful indicator.

Honestly, I'd recommend continuing to test individual non-multivariate landers. Test completely different styles against each other, cut losers with the split-test calculator, and then narrow down to smaller elements.

A parallel split test can work very well - it's great to quickly get some ideas of what might work and generate some combinations to test - but given you're still reasonably new to running campaigns, I'd recommend mastering the basics before jumping into more advanced techniques.


07-16-2014 11:58 AM #33 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)

Thanks a lot for the feedback and advise!

My initial thought as you have guessed it correctly is to increase CTR, with the understanding that CVR will likely to go up as well.
That is why I tested a multivariate thing, by testing different headline text, images and CTA text.

But now you have pointed it, it seems to be a wrong approach. Thanks!

I will revert to what you have suggested:

Quote Originally Posted by caurmen View Post
....
Honestly, I'd recommend continuing to test individual non-multivariate landers. Test completely different styles against each other, cut losers with the split-test calculator, and then narrow down to smaller elements.
....
Never been so excited in learning new things

Thank you again.


07-16-2014 01:55 PM #34 andyvon (AMC Alumnus)

one thing that caught my eye: seems like you are calculating ROI the wrong way, there's no ROI < -100 %.

ROI = (Revenue - Cost) / (Cost)


07-16-2014 03:51 PM #35 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Bad mistake

Quote Originally Posted by andyvon View Post
one thing that caught my eye: seems like you are calculating ROI the wrong way, there's no ROI < -100 %.
ROI = (Revenue - Cost) / (Cost)
Sharp eye! I divide it to the Revenue, my mistake. Thanks for the correction


07-17-2014 04:22 AM #36 qureyoon (AMC Alumnus)
Closing the campaign!

On another note. While searching for more keyword/target, I've come across that the offers have been receiving a lot of complaints:



I don't like having people get scammed out of their hard earned money. I kinda believe in karma.

So I'm stopping this campaign.

It's been a good learning journey for me. Time to move on to better offer, that I can bridge the customers to finding the offers that does not scam them.
I believe if they paid money, they should definitely get the goods

Thanks for all the feedbacks guys!

_____________________

Lessons learned:



More lessons to be learned! Onwards!!


07-18-2014 10:03 AM #37 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by qureyoon View Post
I don't like having people get scammed out of their hard earned money.

So I'm stopping this campaign.
Bravo! I am with you!


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