Well, I'm taking the plunge into mobile, like I mentioned in my newbie thread.
Using Decisive as a tracking source, and will probably run a couple of parallel campaigns. Starting generally with the 'Appetizer' tutorial.
The first offer is one from A4D, for Samsung Milk Music. It's a US only offer, which right away breaks the rules in the tutorial, but since it's only for Samsung devices, I wanted to see what that'd do for the numbers.
I've got my first ads set up in Decisive, now just waiting for approval.
I'm waiting on my other offers until I get my F5 approval and then I'll decide what to run.
Good start!
With the Samsung app, is it doing any volume or converting well?
I'm not sure if there's a way to tell those numbers broadly. I haven't pushed any traffic to it at all, waiting on Decisive.
It converts on ""Per Install and Open" for $0.60 per.
Ask your AM how it is performing on the network.
Good luck!
I was actually running the exact offer (diff network) on Decisive for a few days, but their API was down earlier today so I ended up pausing everything.
They'll probably stay paused as I am trying to stay focused on my other campaigns. If you'd like to take a look at my data (banners, landers, etc.), feel free to let me know. Although, I don't know if it would be helpful or harmful 
Sounds like an interesting offer!
Because you have no data, it might perform terribly badly, but I'm always a fan of testing offbeat offers provided they meet basic parameters (payout is sensible, lander doesn't look terrible).
Just be ruthless with it - if it doesn't show promise early, and it's an untested offer, kill it and move on without a second thought!
Well, ads got approved, and traffic is rolling.
What sort of CTRs are generally decent for banners? Or am I just looking for raw conversion numbers?
Karoshi: What kind of numbers did you see when you were running the Milk offer?
Ok, I have some early results, and I don't really like them that much.
I haven't hit the '$15 spend per campaign' yet, but I'm all paused. Here's the overall stats:
(Well, for some reason I can't insert the screen shot from Decisive. Attached instead.)
WIFI/SITE: 16,127 impressions, 47 clicks, 1 conversion. Spend $5.68, $0.60 revenue
MOBILE/SITE: 11,580 impressions, 17 clicks, 0 conversions. Spend $3.97
WIFI/APP: 24,534 impressions, 190 clicks, 0 conversions. Spend $10.95
MOBILE/APP: 33,915 impressions, 146 clicks, 1 conversion. Spend $8.73, $0.60 revenue
This doesn't seem like a winner to me, should I switch angles or is this bad enough that I should just try a different offer? Or should I stick it out and wait to hit the $15 per mark?
AM says this is converting at around 3% network wide.
I would try a few different angles but focus on the app traffic only. Aim for CTRs >1%.
If you get 1% CTR, on ~$0.30 CPM you're going to need a conversion rate of 5% to break even. It could be done with the right angle!
Hi Zeno.. thanks for your insights on this.. may I also know why you suggest to focus on the app traffic only?
Feel free to split the traffic as you did - it's a better approach really, my mindset was just that:
1) There is slightly more volume available from the apps
2) Your baseline CTRs are higher - not that this equates to profitability but it will get you some click data faster
3) It will consolidate your testing a bit for your angles.
Once you try a few other angle you could then run with any winners across all platforms again.
It's up to you!
Hi Zeno, thanks for the update and your thoughts on the app decision being the volume.. didn't see that one as I thought we were normally to go for CTR.
@chronent keep it up in the testing, i am following this thread closely too!
So taking Zeno's advice, I dug into the App/Wifi campaign a bit. I had a banner that did a little over 1% CTR, and a couple that were just under 1%. I took those three and rolled several different banners that are derivative of those ones that were reasonably successful. My new campaign has nine banners, for each design the original and two derivatives. I also locked down the handset choices as well to take into account which samsung devices CANT run the Milk software.
That new campaign is pending approval at Decisive.
I also snagged a Battery app offer to test in two non-US countries. AM doesn't think too many folks are running this offer, but i wanted to try to get some numbers on english vs native language conversion in banners, etc. And the traffic is pretty cheap, so a reasonable investment, even if I get nothing but data out of it.
So I've got two other campaigns pending approval, one per country.
We'll see how this goes.
New refined Milk campaign was a flop. Did horrible. Wondering if it's related to today being Fathers Day in the US or not. I'm debating whether I should continue with this offer at all.
The battery offer sucks. In country A I got 340 clicks off of 43k impressions, and in country B I got 350 clicks off 38k impressions. Not a single conversion.
HOWEVER, digging into the numbers shows some real potential gold if I had an offer that converts. I've got banners with 2.5% CTRs, with many of them between 1.5% and 2%. There's some draggers, and it doesn't look like APP traffic likes this much.
Overall, some good learning from the creative standpoint as well as what 'grabs' who and that it is hard to predict. Milk did way better with WiFi vs mobile, whereas these battery offers are seeing way more clicks on Site traffic vs App traffic. Reinforces the whole 'test it all and dont assume' bit.
Question: Does anyone know of a good battery app offer, preferably international, that I can plug in and see if I get better results?
Good stuff mate! As long as you learn something valuable, the test is worth it. You cannot put a price on knowledge.
Definitely find some battery app offers to split test on the backend if you have some 2.5% CTR banners going! Just keep in mind that in apps you can get accidental clicks due to banner placements (especially if using interstitials, which are larger), which inflates CTRs.