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mobile campaign help! (6)


05-06-2014 10:54 PM #1 supeyrio (Member)
mobile campaign help!

i'm currently promoting a game offer using big banners.
getting pretty solid CTR like 15%.
but the problem is i'm not converting enough.
2000clicks, 4 conversions and the payout of my offer is $1. thankfully i changed my bidding format from CPC to CPM, so my CPC is now like 0.00666 or so.

what are my options at this current stand point?
the offer should convert decent because it is an offer recommended by my AM. i believe i should cut publishers. 3 conversions came from 1 publisher after 900 clicks. so thats about $6 in spending and $3 in revenue.
i remember i should be cutting publishers after i have tested them for 2-3x payout ? what is the math behind it? and according to that guide my "best" pub should be cut?
or should i continue to test via day parting and week parting after cutting out the obvious unprofitable pubs? landers? or just give up?


05-07-2014 04:57 AM #2 zeno (Administrator)

Quote Originally Posted by supeyrio View Post
the offer should convert decent because it is an offer recommended by my AM.
No! Don't fall into this trap.

Your data tells the truth.

Did you get much click loss from banners to offer? Are your ads misleading? What is the average conversion rate of the offer? What is the download size?

2000 clicks or even 900 clicks and only 4 conversions is horrible performance.

If there are not glaring issues e.g. tracking problems, slow page loads, etc. I would simply move on from the offer. A good game offer will probably convert people at over 4 in 900 even if your ads said "Click here for sex". OK maybe an exaggeration but hopefully it gets my point across.


05-07-2014 05:37 PM #3 caurmen (Administrator)

A good game offer will probably convert people at over 4 in 900 even if your ads said "Click here for sex".
For proof of this, check out http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...ase-Study-Ever . STM members competed to produce the most terrible, horrible, not-good banners ever, and most of them still got conversions.


05-07-2014 09:24 PM #4 supeyrio (Member)

hey caurmen and zeno, thank you very much for all your help! i definitely agree with alot that you have said. i was browisng some old threads and i came across this one

http://stmforum.com/forum/showthread...direct+linking

this post from stackman caught my eye.

Quote Originally Posted by stackman View Post
@Dario i dont think the way you did it is necessarily wrong.

I quite often do quick campaign test on mobile by direct linking, but i use my owner banners.

Here's what to do.
1. Double check with your AM the offer is good/converting
2. Make your own banners, try 3 angles and 3 banners for each angle (total of 9)
3. Run the traffic again and see what you come up with. $.80 CPI x10 x9 banners = $8x9. So spent $72 for this test. See your results.
... if anything bites at -50%+ then try it with a lander
4. Build more banners/landing page around the winning angles or try 3 more new angles direct linking
it wasn't my intent to test stuff out in his manner but given his strategy of testing,
i should spend $1 x 5 banners(didnt do 9 like stackman) x 10 = $50 before i can tell if this offer works or not?
as i get 16% CTR overall after 16k impressions, and have a CPM of $1, which means i should continue testing this offer for another $50-($1x16)=$34?
or did i misapply some stuff here?
thanks!


05-08-2014 12:10 AM #5 deondup (Member)

A large % of interstitial ad clicks are accidental. Don't get mesmerized by the good CTR. Its NOT uncommon to get 1000 clicks from one ad placement without a single conversion. Just block it and focus on conversions.


05-10-2014 05:56 PM #6 Finch (Moderator)

I would be tempted to cull the dud placements, raise bids, and see if you can hurdle over the junk.

That's assuming the offer isn't a complete flop.

That conversion rate is never going to be profitable. But it's difficult to assess on its own. If a handful of placements are sending all of the traffic, and they happen to be junk placements, then your conversion rate means nothing. Raising bids (which goes against instinct in this situation) can sometimes get you some better placements to make a more informed decision.

Make sure you're not doing something stupid like advertising to users of a carrier/OS that can't convert.


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