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Grill my landing page please (24)


02-10-2014 12:05 PM #1 jdenhaan (Member)
Grill my landing page please

Hi stackers,

I'd love for you to please critique my landing page as relentlessly as you can. This is for an FB-promoted offer where I basically target fans of this super bowl winning NFL club with the promise they will have a chance at a free Playstation 4 if they vote for their favorite player. After filling out the survey, they get taken to the offer.

http://seahawksurvey.com-jdh.com/?test=true

SO far, I have sent about 100 clicks to the offers, but no conversion yet... Clearly something's wrong with my lander, since the premise is clear in the ad copy. Anyone have an idea?

Note: the offer link won't work due to CPVlab click detection, but it's basically a rotation of 3 playstation 4 email submits.


02-10-2014 01:02 PM #2 dynamicsoul (Member)

your lander is nice.. offer might be weak?

surprised they approved this on fb?


02-10-2014 01:09 PM #3 jdenhaan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by dynamicsoul View Post
your lander is nice.. offer might be weak?

surprised they approved this on fb?
The offer is a simple one page email submit. Fairly standard fare...

Would this be more a PPV campaign?


02-10-2014 01:29 PM #4 mvaneijk (Member)

You might want to work on the flow from your LP to the OFFER.

This setup on FB and the LP seems fine and I actually think it can work well.

You might want to include a simple hint* text-box on what the user should be doing on the second page such as; Thanks for voting! Now fill in your details on the second page and get a change.. blablabla.

People filling this in are the kind that need some special treatment such as making things SUPER MEGA SIMPLE.

How about adding a simple step1 to/ step 3 bar in the header of your landing page.



Something like that ^^

And this might sound stupid but you are targeting guys right? not females*

Also which age group are you targeting here? (I would not pass the 40+ mark).


02-10-2014 02:01 PM #5 dynamicsoul (Member)

Would probably work better on something like PPV or pop traffic in general..
I'd be surprised if you can get the clicks on FB cheap enough to make an email submit work.. for like a 2 or 3 dollar max payout..

Nice lander though, and as above.. a step bar.. or even just a simple list of steps, spells it out for the clicker..

eg,

1. Complete the poll
2. continue and submit email
3. Get your chance to win

etc..

better steps needed.. just idea..


02-10-2014 02:04 PM #6 melcube (Member)

I would change the headline to "Qualify for a chance to get a FREE PS4"


02-10-2014 02:32 PM #7 Mr Green (Administrator)

Your lander looks solid mate. What is the CTR? I'd do basic things like have the call to action above the fold and make it a button.

Are the offers proven?


02-10-2014 06:41 PM #8 jdenhaan (Member)
Grill my landing page please

My clicks are fairly cheap at about $.10. I find sports teams etc are a massive CTR magnet. Especially when they just won a big prize.


02-10-2014 06:43 PM #9 jdenhaan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Green View Post
Your lander looks solid mate. What is the CTR? I'd do basic things like have the call to action above the fold and make it a button.

Are the offers proven?
How do you mean "proven"?

I actually removed the vote button to take out one step of the journey. You reckon it's better to put it back in and give it a nice call to action?


02-10-2014 08:20 PM #10 grandtheftpixel (Senior Member)

Quote Originally Posted by jdenhaan View Post
How do you mean "proven"?

I actually removed the vote button to take out one step of the journey. You reckon it's better to put it back in and give it a nice call to action?
What's the CTR right now?

Add a button next to each player that states "Select Richard Sherman" etc. There's all kinds of things you could do with microcopy around the button as well. Split test calls to action like "select Richard Sherman for a PS4" etc. Bait that click/tap.

I'd also split test a second page in your funnel as well with a few other elements. Add testimonials, give precise instructions on what to do next, why they should do it & what they're going to miss out on if they don't convert, add an element of social hype in there if you can, show how many people took the quiz and didn't win the playstation vs. how many did, add an element of urgency (time/days till close, people waiting in line behind you etc).

Really get persuasive but make sure that it makes sense.


02-10-2014 08:56 PM #11 grandtheftpixel (Senior Member)

You got me thinking about this one. Here's another brain fart...

Winning a PS4 is a no brainer right - who doesn't want a free PS4? Another way to attack this would be to address objections rather than sell it in. What can you do to make it real/legitimise it in a way that users don't need to think about? Sometimes it's subtle things that attack the subconscious rather than big bold statements.

Something else I'd test is branding my funnel. Right now you've just got a multi choice page prompting users to select a player as part of the seahawks fans 2014 survey. Nothing wrong with that but my question would be who is actually going to give me my PS4? Seahawks themselves? Make a brand like profootballfans.com, facebook big league fans, E̶S̶P̶N̶ etc (jokes).

Think about why you're giving these away for free and show that it's 'alive' so to speak.

I'm not sure how much that'd move the needle but it might add a bit of context and weight to your argument.

Also I'd think about how to personalise it as well. Make it exclusive to the user and/or see what might be possible if you grouped traffic into specific targets etc.

There's literally tons of stuff I can think of for this one actually.

Bounus: dig around on Facebook and find all the recent comps, brand/football fan pages and the coverage on major news/sports sites. Read the comments. There's bound to be some spun gold in there.


02-10-2014 09:58 PM #12 dynamicsoul (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by jdenhaan View Post
My clicks are fairly cheap at about $.10. I find sports teams etc are a massive CTR magnet. Especially when they just won a big prize.
Say lander has a 50% CTR (don't know just guessing) so it's costing 0.20 to get peeps through to the actual offer page..

Say offer page has a conversion rate of 8% with a payout of $1.60 (see a PS4 offer at Peerfly here) http://prntscr.com/2rdfur

You spend $10.. you get 50 clicks to the offer from your lander (0.20)

It's converting for others at 8% ish, so you get 4 conversions.. (8% of 50)

4 x $1.60 = $6.4

You're onto loser right away..

Even at a $2.40 payout which some networks can offer for certain email submits... $9.60

You would have to have near 80% CTR to make it worth your effort trying?


02-10-2014 10:58 PM #13 jdenhaan (Member)

Thanks everyone for your replies. I don't have the time to reply in-depth right now, but I just wanted to highlight that this is why I joined this forum. Amazing insights!


02-11-2014 12:32 AM #14 jdenhaan (Member)

Quick random idea: what if..

I skin the lander to look very similar to the offer? Maybe use a blurred screenshot of the offer as a background image and then add the quiz as an overlay? This will create a less disjointed experience and should build more trust with the visitor?


02-11-2014 07:52 AM #15 jdenhaan (Member)

Just actioned this because it only took 5 minutes. Come check it out. Will also look at a few other recommendations from this thread so far.


02-11-2014 10:46 AM #16 Adamw (AMC Alumnus)

looks nice man! Like the hover effects over the players!

Some things I would split test/add in there:

Urgency

Only 3 PS4's left... Vote within 00:59 seconds in order to win... etc...

Social Proof

FB Likes button with 100k likes... Other winners in YOUR AREA (replaced with geo script)...

Legitimacy Factor

Why this is happening, why the Seahawks, some other images of the PS4, or Testimonials with pictures of people holding their new PS4.

Other Stuff

Wider box instead of longer so that you can see the headline, different color schemes as well.

Like it though man!


02-11-2014 10:54 AM #17 mvaneijk (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by dynamicsoul View Post
Even at a $2.40 payout which some networks can offer for certain email submits... $9.60

You would have to have near 80% CTR to make it worth your effort trying?
I understand where you are coming from but you would be surprised on the conversion%% rates offers like these are getting.

Freebies, Vouchers and all that will of course vary and some offers do absolutely horrible but we have some converting between 15/30% and that would blow your negative ROI to a nice big PLUS.

Once you find a winning concept the volume on FB is huge for this as well & it looks like Facebook is allowing these ads to run smoothly.

Also keeping in mind that this market is huge and you have plenty of offers to work with.


While replying here once more I would also recommend testing several other setups.

- The US in my opinion is always a hard market to tackle so I would test this exact campaign (with soccer players) in a european country. (Germany would be perfect, high volume)

- The POLL type landing pages "should" work on plenty of different offers as well (Any giveaway, voucher type offers). People on FB seems to love filling out a few questions.

- Try a different landing page with the same type of approach but ask a few more questions to warm them up, such as; Would you like to play the latest Football Games? YES, NO.

I also personally wouldn't go overboard with these type of campaigns & keep it simple. No testimonial type of stuff, I would however include at least a image to warm them up for the grand price.


- I also noticed that you can only VOTE once on your landing page, which I would disable because you won't believe the amount of idiots that can still screw this up.

The popup after you vote looks and seems to work great but I wouldn't 100% risk my redirect based on that because you never know what browser is possibly blocking it etc etc

Another thing you can TRY is running mobile traffic to this LP and find out how that converts (Check with your AM if they allow it).

And also as MR GREEN already said, are the offers you are promoting right now proven to convert? (Ask your AM for EPCs & conversion rates on these offers, don't let them make you test waters yourself unless you want to)

Never hold back with signing up to several networks to score the best possible offer for this, even if you are just testing it.


02-11-2014 11:34 AM #18 dynamicsoul (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by mvaneijk View Post
I understand where you are coming from but you would be surprised on the conversion%% rates offers like these are getting.

Freebies, Vouchers and all that will of course vary and some offers do absolutely horrible but we have some converting between 15/30% and that would blow your negative ROI to a nice big PLUS.

Once you find a winning concept the volume on FB is huge for this as well & it looks like Facebook is allowing these ads to run smoothly.

Also keeping in mind that this market is huge and you have plenty of offers to work with.


While replying here once more I would also recommend testing several other setups.

- The US in my opinion is always a hard market to tackle so I would test this exact campaign (with soccer players) in a european country. (Germany would be perfect, high volume)

- The POLL type landing pages "should" work on plenty of different offers as well (Any giveaway, voucher type offers). People on FB seems to love filling out a few questions.

- Try a different landing page with the same type of approach but ask a few more questions to warm them up, such as; Would you like to play our latest Game? YES, NO.

I also personally wouldn't go overboard with these type of campaigns & keep it simple. No testimonial type of stuff, I would however include at least an image to warm them up for the grand price.


- I also noticed that you can only VOTE once on your landing page, which I would disable because you won't believe the amount of idiots that can still screw this up.

The popup after you vote looks and seems to work great but I wouldn't 100% risk my redirect based on that because you never know what browser is possibly blocking it etc etc

Another thing you can TRY is running mobile traffic to this LP and find out how that converts (Check with your AM if they allow it).

And also as MR GREEN already said, are the offers you are promoting right now proven to convert? (Ask your AM for EPCs & conversion rates on these offers, don't let them make you test waters yourself unless you want to)

Never hold back with signing up to several networks to score the best possible offer for this, even if you are just testing it.

i don't disagree with you. .. just because one persons angle converts at 8% doesn't mean anothers can't convert at 15%.. just think as someone who is new to FB.. it might be a hard offer to start with.. might be easier looking for something that would give ROI an easier chance? hey ho


02-11-2014 12:14 PM #19 jdenhaan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by mvaneijk View Post
-snip-
Thanks for all that. A few things I noted though:

- I don't think it would be wise to use the word 'NFL' in my ads. Might land me in legal hell.
- It's not the window that redirects; the redirect automatically fires after the window. So even if it's blocked, the javascript redirect will fire
- I've made sure my lander works well on mobile. NOt too sure about the offer though, hard to check due to geolocation (I'm in AU)
- I've upgraded the lander and it now has the entire offer page (including a PS4) as a background to a translucent poll. That should do the trick of warming them up and presenting a fluent and seemingly seamless experience?

The offers seem to have some conversions, although I'm not sure if network conversion rates are a useful metrics given that I've actually given this a thought out angle versus just dumped people on the page.

Thanks for the tip on geo. I'm actually Dutch so could run something similar in the Netherlands. German also should be doable for me.


02-11-2014 12:16 PM #20 jdenhaan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by buttonedup View Post
looks nice man! Like the hover effects over the players!

Some things I would split test/add in there:

Urgency

Only 3 PS4's left... Vote within 00:59 seconds in order to win... etc...

Social Proof

FB Likes button with 100k likes... Other winners in YOUR AREA (replaced with geo script)...

Legitimacy Factor

Why this is happening, why the Seahawks, some other images of the PS4, or Testimonials with pictures of people holding their new PS4.

Other Stuff

Wider box instead of longer so that you can see the headline, different color schemes as well.

Like it though man!
Yeah, a share/like button might be useful to get some organic traction going. Thanks for that one. Just have to make sure I set facebook to like the CPVlab campaign URL to prevent 'no click' for organic visitors.

Note: I've also made the box broader so I can accommodate the tagline of the background. As a teaser it also shows a PS4 controller through a translucent background. I don't have time to create a separate version now but I guess I should split test these two instead of just changing it.


02-11-2014 01:29 PM #21 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by jdenhaan View Post
- I don't think it would be wise to use the word 'NFL' in my ads. Might land me in legal hell.
@mvaneijk - Mate, if you work for an affiliate network, you really should not be encouraging affiliates to do stuff like this. Especially in writing and in public.

That is a lawsuit waiting to happen. I am sure you know how much something like this cost A4D.


02-11-2014 10:12 PM #22 jdenhaan (Member)

Can you get in legal trouble for using a team name in an ad or lander?


02-11-2014 10:16 PM #23 cmdeal (Veteran Member)

Quote Originally Posted by jdenhaan View Post
Can you get in legal trouble for using a team name in an ad or lander?
http://www.nfl.com/help/terms

2. Trade and Service Mark Rights

We (or our affiliates) and our member professional football clubs own all rights in the product names, company names, trade names, logos, product packaging and designs ("Trademarks") of the National Football League and such member clubs, and third parties own all Trademarks in their respective products or services, whether or not appearing in large print or with the trademark symbol.

Unauthorized use of any such Trademarks, including reproduction, imitation, dilution or confusing or misleading uses, is prohibited under the trademark laws of the United States and other countries. You are expressly prohibited from using or misusing any Trademarks, except as expressly provided in this Agreement, and nothing otherwise stated or implied in the Services confers on you any license or right to do so.


02-11-2014 11:05 PM #24 jdenhaan (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by cmdeal View Post
http://www.nfl.com/help/terms

2. Trade and Service Mark Rights

We (or our affiliates) and our member professional football clubs own all rights in the product names, company names, trade names, logos, product packaging and designs ("Trademarks") of the National Football League and such member clubs, and third parties own all Trademarks in their respective products or services, whether or not appearing in large print or with the trademark symbol.

Unauthorized use of any such Trademarks, including reproduction, imitation, dilution or confusing or misleading uses, is prohibited under the trademark laws of the United States and other countries. You are expressly prohibited from using or misusing any Trademarks, except as expressly provided in this Agreement, and nothing otherwise stated or implied in the Services confers on you any license or right to do so.
Wow. This kills any possible angle related to sports teams (and probably players) I guess. As an aside, I wonder how many people could get in trouble for creating free wallpapers etc.

Having said that, I'm surprised Facebook approved my ad copy. The headline reads 'are you a Seahawks fan?' (really simple, but great CTR). Any ideas on how to change this without killing my CTR?

Luckily this concept can be horizontally applied to a million interests, so maybe I should move on to something safer?


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