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Quick 3 questions (7)


09-19-2013 05:58 PM #1 dbadwal (Member)
Quick 3 questions

Hey Guys,

I started my first adult dating campaign 2 days ago. Would be building a new thread as a follow along tonight. Didn't get time to start my follow along as I work full time as well. My appologies to the community.

There are 3 quick questions which I think affect my campaigns.

1. There is a huge difference of no. of clicks reported in the traffic source data and the CPA network data. My traffic source says I have 280 clicks wheareas CPA network figure report just 91. I know there is always a difference for these 2 figures but in this case the difference seems to be huge. Please suggest if thats normal or I need to look into my tracking. I'm using tracking 202. I'm quite non tech person. But Caurmen's tracking 202 guide helped a lot. Which I hughly appreciate.

2. Secondly the conversion/leads data isn't geting reported in prosper202. Does that mean I messed up postback URL setup? As Caurmen suggested in his guide for postback URLs, here is the URL I put in my CPA network, which is neverblue in my case. http://prosper.myurl.com/tracking202...amount=&subid=[[subid]], whearas neverblue has given the following example url to put in the postback place provided. http://www.example.com/myscript.php?subid={subid}&offer={campaign_id}. Should I use curly brackets as neverblue told or the URL i used after watching Caurmen's guide is correct.

a) Can you please suggest where am I wrong? What should be the exact structure of my URL?
b) As I wanna try another source of traffic as well. How whould I distinguish which traffic would be bringing which sales in Prosper202? Do I need to add a tracking code in postback URL for the new traffic source?
c) I've started with 2 campaign, but the postback URL http://prosper.myurl.com/tracking202...amount=&subid=[[subid]] is same for both the campaigns and both offers in Neverblue. Is that normal or I'm doing something wrong?
d) I didn't setup the pixel option in the following option in the traffic source, although I set up the username etc. Would it affect tracking conversions? I didn't fill that because I don't have multiple accouts on the traffic source. Am I right or do I have to fill this option? If yes, which pixel would I be using. My traffic source doesn't provide conversion pixel.

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3. My both campaigns are having 0.25% CTR. Is that comparitively better CTR figure? What is the minimum CTR to decide as if we need to cull that banner or not? And what is the avg CTR for a successful campaign, not maximum possible, just average.

4. I build 4 LPs, but all these landing pages have their index file as index.html. Whereas to rotate banners we need to use the php code, which takes php LPs. So if I just save this index.html to index.php, would I be able to get them rotated using rotator script. Or do I just need to start building pages from scratch using different file structure? Or is there any script available to use with index.html files?

Guys I wish to resolve these tracking issues and adding tracking source today so that the weekend traffic is tapped. Your early help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks,

dbadwal


09-19-2013 07:07 PM #2 nyc (Member)

I'm still in the learning process of my adult dating campaign so I can't answer most of these, but for #4 theres no difference saving an index.html file as index.php


09-19-2013 07:17 PM #3 andyvon (AMC Alumnus)

1. Do you use a landing page? The clicks in the CPA network data are only clicks that went through to the actual offer page. That could explain the big discrepancy.

2a) The specific syntax as to how you paste subids differs from network to network depending on what tracking solution they use. Use the curly brackets as suggested by Neverblue. In the meantime you can manually paste the converting subids into 202 via "Update - Update Subids".

2b) Each tracking link from 202 is for a unique campaign + traffic source combination, so if you want to test on another traffic source you would 1. add the new traffic source under "#1 Traffic Sources" and 2. create a new tracking link under "#7 Get Links".

2c) The postback is the same for every campaign, 202 uses the subid that gets posted back to identify the campaign.

2d) You can leave out the pixel option.

3. Not specific enough question, CTRs vary drastically between different traffic sources, placements etc. Maybe start a follow along campaign where you share more details and people might be able to help you.

4. You don't need to change the extension of the landing pages, only the rotation script has to be php. You can change it though and it would still work.

Hope that helps.


09-19-2013 08:10 PM #4 dbadwal (Member)

[QUOTE]

Quote Originally Posted by andyvon View Post
1. Do you use a landing page? The clicks in the CPA network data are only clicks that went through to the actual offer page. That could explain the big discrepancy.
Yes I do use LPs. oh thats great point andyvon. That explains that my landing page sucks. Thanks man for the insight. But does that much drop of traffic from banner to LP normal or is it too big of a gap?
2a) The specific syntax as to how you paste subids differs from network to network depending on what tracking solution they use. Use the curly brackets as suggested by Neverblue. In the meantime you can manually paste the converting subids into 202 via "Update - Update Subids".
again great point. It was at the back of my mind. Didn't use it. Regarding updating the subids
okay I'll use curly brackets and see how it goes.

2b) Each tracking link from 202 is for a unique campaign + traffic source combination, so if you want to test on another traffic source you would 1. add the new traffic source under "#1 Traffic Sources" and 2. create a new tracking link under "#7 Get Links".
yeah got you

2c) The postback is the same for every campaign, 202 uses the subid that gets posted back to identify the campaign.
thats great. So no need to look for different postback url for different campaigns sigh of relief.

2d) You can leave out the pixel option.
again no problem
3. Not specific enough question, CTRs vary drastically between different traffic sources, placements etc. Maybe start a follow along campaign where you share more details and people might be able to help you.
i'll do that tonight
4. You don't need to change the extension of the landing pages, only the rotation script has to be php. You can change it though and it would still work.
thats great. that means I'll use them as it is. again sign of relief. As I've very limited time to work on campaigns. The less is better

Thanks for all of your replies


09-19-2013 09:19 PM #5 JasperP (Member)

1. The landing page click through rates will GREATLY vary depending on length, copy, imagery, creatives, traffic source, etc.

For example, if your landing page consisted of two elements: a headline "Are you looking for a free iPhone 5?" and a Big Button that says "click here to claim your iPhone 5", you can expect landing page clickthrough rates to be high like in the 50-90% range.

If your landing page has 10,000 words of text and several paragraphs/pages long, you might see a LP CTR of like 5-20%. So it really depends.

You said that the traffic source is reporting 280 clicks and the CPA network is 91 clicks. It sounds like 91 people clicked through on your landing page. Therefore:

LP CTR = 91 / 280 = 32.5%

That sounds like an average LP CTR for many types of campaigns, so it's pretty reasonable.

Just think about if you were in the visitors shoes and you saw your ad and then the landing page. Would you click through on the LP?

2. The brackets are the problem. Neverblue recognizes {subid} rather than the [[subid]] token from tracking202. Your link should be:

Code:
http://prosper.myurl.com/tracking202/static/gpb.php?amount={payout}&subid={subid}
3. The postback URL is just going to take the subids that converted in their network and sends that info back to your prosper202. As long as you have separate links in #7 Get Links, you will be able to distinguish between campaigns.

The postback URL (from above) will be the same regardless of what campaign you're running.

4. The CTR on the banners will ALSO vary GREATLY depending on the niche, creative, site, placement, targeting, etc. If I had to give it a number, I'd say on average, the CTR will usually vary between 0.05% to 0.80%. It can be as as high as 10% and can be as low as 0.001%. There are way too many variables to accurately answer this question.

What matters the most is how much your spending vs how much your earning. It's hard to just use CTR to judge the quality of the banner because some banners do more qualification than others.

If you have a banner that says "iPhones are FREE FREE FREE! Come and get it!!" vs "iPhone Giveaway! Just enter your name and email". The "FREE" banner might get a high CTR, but may not convert as well. The 2nd banner might have a low CTR, but might have a higher conversion rate.

0.25% sounds like a reasonable CTR to work with, so you should be able to get some decent data. Here's an example:

Code:
Bid: $0.10 CPM
Lead: $1.00 per lead

Let's say the offer has a 10% conversion rate and you received 25,000 impressions to that banner.  

25,000 impressions @ 0.25% CTR = ~63 clicks

Those 63 clicks netted you 6 leads.  6 leads * $1 = $6 earnings

25,000 impressions @ $0.10 CPM = $2.50 ad spend

Profit: $6 earnings - $2.50 ad spend = $3.50
This is oversimplified, but I hope you get the point.

4. ^^Agreed with andyvon. Only the rotation script needs to be php.

Also, I think that was more than 3 questions. haha


09-19-2013 09:46 PM #6 zeno (Administrator)

Re: the HTML vs PHP question, be aware PHP may not be processed inside an HTML file depending on your server setup. Make sure to check. PHP will only be processed if the HTML file is server by PHP handler... It's easiest to just have all files as PHP but this can be annoying sometimes, e.g. links already in place, or editing HTML is easier due to the software you use and you can't be assed changing extensions all the time.

In any case, to make sure HTM/HTML files are server by the PHP handler, the following should be in your .htaccess:

Code:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm .html
AddType text/html php


09-20-2013 03:03 AM #7 dbadwal (Member)

You said that the traffic source is reporting 280 clicks and the CPA network is 91 clicks. It sounds like 91 people clicked through on your landing page. Therefore:

LP CTR = 91 / 280 = 32.5%

That sounds like an average LP CTR for many types of campaigns, so it's pretty reasonable.

Just think about if you were in the visitors shoes and you saw your ad and then the landing page. Would you click through on the LP?
thanks man. i got you

2. The brackets are the problem. Neverblue recognizes {subid} rather than the [[subid]] token from tracking202. Your link should be:

Code:
http://prosper.myurl.com/tracking202/static/gpb.php?amount={payout}&subid={subid}
Makes sense. Made the change in CPA network. Lets see how it goes tomorrow.

3. The postback URL is just going to take the subids that converted in their network and sends that info back to your prosper202. As long as you have separate links in #7 Get Links, you will be able to distinguish between campaigns.

The postback URL (from above) will be the same regardless of what campaign you're running.
New stuff to learn. Thanks for the detailed reply.
4. The CTR on the banners will ALSO vary GREATLY depending on the niche, creative, site, placement, targeting, etc. If I had to give it a number, I'd say on average, the CTR will usually vary between 0.05% to 0.80%. It can be as as high as 10% and can be as low as 0.001%. There are way too many variables to accurately answer this question.

What matters the most is how much your spending vs how much your earning. It's hard to just use CTR to judge the quality of the banner because some banners do more qualification than others.

If you have a banner that says "iPhones are FREE FREE FREE! Come and get it!!" vs "iPhone Giveaway! Just enter your name and email". The "FREE" banner might get a high CTR, but may not convert as well. The 2nd banner might have a low CTR, but might have a higher conversion rate.

0.25% sounds like a reasonable CTR to work with, so you should be able to get some decent data. Here's an example:

Code:
Bid: $0.10 CPM
Lead: $1.00 per lead

Let's say the offer has a 10% conversion rate and you received 25,000 impressions to that banner.  

25,000 impressions @ 0.25% CTR = ~63 clicks

Those 63 clicks netted you 6 leads.  6 leads * $1 = $6 earnings

25,000 impressions @ $0.10 CPM = $2.50 ad spend

Profit: $6 earnings - $2.50 ad spend = $3.50
This is oversimplified, but I hope you get the point.
That was the simplest possible way to understand. I got it.

4. ^^Agreed with andyvon. Only the rotation script needs to be php.
I'll be working on the script

Also, I think that was more than 3 questions. haha
Thought to ask 3 but as I started writing, more and more started crawling into mind. But thanks Jesper for all great replies.


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