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My Site Scout Media Buy Stats - What am i doing wrong (11)


03-10-2013 08:44 PM #1 seowork12 (Member)
My Site Scout Media Buy Stats - What am i doing wrong

Hi Guys i started doing media buys 2 days ago with site scout i have spent over $1000 already my plan is to run the test over 7--10 days i have 4 to $5000 put away just for testing

i am promoting green coffee bean and my landing page is simliar to all the other guys promoting the green coffee bean OZ video etc payout is $45 and my AM said the epc for the offer on media buys is $1.45

My campaigns are not dong so good can you guys please help me out here and tell me what i am doing wrong why are my camps doing so bad please see SiteScout screen shots below

double click screen shots to enlarge

screen shot march 09 -10


screen shot march 10



prosper screen shot


03-10-2013 10:53 PM #2 Mr Green (Administrator)

Woah nelly slow down! Most people start out move too slow, but you are moving WAY too fast.

Step 1. Pause everything.

Spending more as is is not going to help your cause.

How many creatives and landers have you tested with that $1000 spend? Have you noticed any trends?

You really need to give more info about how you a promoting your campaign for us to give specific feedback.


03-10-2013 10:54 PM #3 sandyone (Member)

Sunscribed!


03-10-2013 11:20 PM #4 runforestrun (Member)

" other guys promoting the green coffee bean OZ video etc payout is $45 and my AM said the epc for the offer on media buys is $1.45"

How much the EPC info worth of you are using a lander before(video) ?!
Sitescout is really risky with the money!
You can shave your money quite quickly.

Why did you decide to try with diet offers at first?
if u still still trying to focus on diet....i think you should split test (us,uk,au and more).
Try also 2 focus at night time(21:00 till mid).

Skin care should be easier 4 ya 2 start with on Sitescout.

Good luck,

May the belly be with you...


03-11-2013 12:28 AM #5 seowork12 (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Green View Post
Woah nelly slow down! Most people start out move too slow, but you are moving WAY too fast.

Step 1. Pause everything.

Spending more as is is not going to help your cause.

How many creatives and landers have you tested with that $1000 spend? Have you noticed any trends?

You really need to give more info about how you a promoting your campaign for us to give specific feedback.
Mr Green I just Paused everything
1 how much spend per a day per a camp do you recommend
2 i have 25 creatives im testing i paused 16 of the creatives do to low ctr regarding my landing pages i am doing multivariate testing i tested 6 headlines and 2 call to action buttons out of the six headlines i narrowed it down to 1 that was out performing all on both landing page ctr and conversion the headline i stuck with is the headline i got both of my conversions from the call to action buttons seem to be even

screen shot of my creative stats



please note that allot of the sites that are giving the most impressions are sites that i am getting a decent ctr from and no conversions take a look at the stats below for example



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

ctr is great getting allot of clicks cheap i stopped this site because no conversions came in after a 2 day $70 spend should i continue testing this or shut down all sites that are over my payout

now regarding the 2 conversions that came in they came in from sites that i am barley getting any impressions on and im winning just about all impressions they just dont have enough left over inventory i guess
please see the converted sites stats below



Uploaded with ImageShack.us


i dont know what else to do any help would be appreciated

if you need anymore stats or info please let me know will be happy to share

also if you want to make this a follow along feel free to do so if you guys want i will keep updating and let you guys know how it goes i am determined to make this work and feel like it will help out the other members from making the same mistakes i am making


03-11-2013 04:30 AM #6 joejoechen (Member)

Your first huge mistake (me thinks): YOU ARE TESTING TOO MANY BANNERS.

I'm assuming you already know a great deal about AM before you started out media buying, and especially in diet vertical.. and you know how to calculate your metrics, thing is, if you have a high CPA like $45... you need to run 3x$45=$135 to decide on whether to cull your ads or not, and $135 will be your budget for ONE creative.

Now you work your way back to your budget, how much can you afford to lose a day, for a straight 7 days?

If it's $1000 a day, then $1000/$135 = 8 ads a day. After your Day 1, make a note and see which type of ads is working, then make 8 more ads according to what was working Day 1, then spend again, then see what was working Day 2 etc...

If you are greedy and run too many ads a day, you are going to spread your budget thin across multiple ads and you get nothing in the end.

And then, rotate in 2 - 3 landers from Day 1, then let them run x5 the payout as well, if you are spending 1k a day, you should have a pretty good call on the winner lander for Day 1, then rotate in 2 more landers at a lower % the next day..

Thing is, if you are spending 1k a day, and you are not rotating in landers as quickly, you are just wasting money.


03-11-2013 05:58 AM #7 seowork12 (Member)

Quote Originally Posted by joejoechen View Post
Your first huge mistake (me thinks): YOU ARE TESTING TOO MANY BANNERS.

I'm assuming you already know a great deal about AM before you started out media buying, and especially in diet vertical.. and you know how to calculate your metrics, thing is, if you have a high CPA like $45... you need to run 3x$45=$135 to decide on whether to cull your ads or not, and $135 will be your budget for ONE creative.

Now you work your way back to your budget, how much can you afford to lose a day, for a straight 7 days?

If it's $1000 a day, then $1000/$135 = 8 ads a day. After your Day 1, make a note and see which type of ads is working, then make 8 more ads according to what was working Day 1, then spend again, then see what was working Day 2 etc...

If you are greedy and run too many ads a day, you are going to spread your budget thin across multiple ads and you get nothing in the end.

And then, rotate in 2 - 3 landers from Day 1, then let them run x5 the payout as well, if you are spending 1k a day, you should have a pretty good call on the winner lander for Day 1, then rotate in 2 more landers at a lower % the next day..

Thing is, if you are spending 1k a day, and you are not rotating in landers as quickly, you are just wasting money.
thanks joejoe ok so 3 x my budget must be applied for each ad does 3 x budget apply to each site im testing as well ?
now here is one thing i dont get what is the point of doing the 3 x budget thing lets say if the site im advertising on converts once after 3x spend how am i going to optimize to make it convert under the payout amount ?

now regarding this "If it's $1000 a day, then $1000/$135 = 8 ads a day." does this apply to sites im testing aswell say $1000/$135 = 8 sites a day ?

"And then, rotate in 2 - 3 landers from Day 1, then let them run x5 the payout as well," is it ok to use the same lander with different headline variations and call to action buttons instead of a completely different lander ? also how many offers should i be rotating and how often so far i rotated 2 offers and keeped the offer that had both the conversions so currently i am not rotating offers


03-13-2013 03:08 PM #8 seowork12 (Member)

bump


03-13-2013 05:08 PM #9 wannabe (Member)

i have had a similar experience with sitescout. really interested in knowing the answers.


03-14-2013 06:44 AM #10 deondup (Member)

There really are no hard and fast rules for media buys. I almost never spend 3x payout per creative per placement. It may make sense on a $3 payout but not on a $20 + payout.

You need to nail something down when you start testing broad. Either nail down your landing page or your creatives or your placements. Test fewer variables, otherwise you can burn through a TON of money. If you are doing rebills, chances are your landing page will be a "proven" one. Changing the headline or font color won't make it perform 3x better (in most cases).

To really find winners you have to test wildly different things.

Once you get some traction you can start testing variations to improve the CVR but if there's nothing to measure it against then you are just throwing money into the wind and hoping you will catch something.

As a start I always try and get a high CTR on my banners. Since you are buying CPM this will probably make the biggest difference. Once you know which banners gets the higher CTR you can already start seeing what people respond to. This can help you with your landing pages and even choosing the right offer.

One of the best ways to start is to run an offer that you KNOW converts. Find an AM that you trust and get some recommendations. When you know the offer converts, you know news landers (for example) work on rebills and then you start by testing 10 wildly different creatives you will start to see patterns emerge.


03-14-2013 09:18 PM #11 john_smith (Member)

A few things....
1) Test a few banners at a time and keep an eye out for the high CTR ones. Eventually when you have enough data, you'll keep an eye on the high EPC ones.

2) Your winning 90%+ of your impressions. NEVER(at least as a n00b!) set bids so that you are winning that many impressions. 50% MAX

3) Frequency cap, frequency cap, frequency cap. 1/72 to start. Open up the traffic nozzle down the line


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